We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Previous reviews all valid!!”
Review of Ma Ma Gui

Ma Ma Gui
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Previous reviews all valid!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We've just returned from a fabulous meal at Ma Ma Gui's. This was our last night in Samara Beach, so we wanted to choose a memorable restaurant. We were not disappointed!! People are raving about this restaurant for good reason. We were so glad we chose it. Yes, the tables are right beside the road, but the road is not that busy (except for a few motorcycles zooming past tonight!!) My husband had the pizza with sausage and pepper....delicious. I ordered a crepe with chicken, bechamel sauce, mushrooms, and mozarella cheese....fantastic!! Prices are quite reasonable. We ordered a 1/2 litre of the house wine, Chilean. Excellent! (normally wines are not that great in CR). Since it was the last night, I had to order a dessert...tiramisu for me, which we split....delicious. It was partially frozen, with a scoop of whip cream, nicely presented!! It is not made here, and the waiter (who spoke English, French and Spanish) tried to explain where it was from, but I didn't get it!! Excellent service.....our waiter came around to check on how we were enjoying everything, which to us, is a sign of a very good restaurant. Highly recommend this restaurant!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    102
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great pizza and dessert crepes”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is a little place on the main road, nothing fancy. But a fun place to eat, with amazingly thin-crusted pizza that was delicious. Likewise, the dessert crepes were fantastic. We enjoyed this very much.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simple & Classy”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We found this place by accident, as it's located across the street from the Pali grocery store. We had out 9 month old with us. We sat at a table outside, and while there were cars passing by, it was quiet enough and overall a very nice atmosphere. We ordered a pizza and salad to share and were not disappointed. The food was served on big, heavy wooden plates and was arranged beautifully. Everything was fresh and delicious. Service was polite and efficient. In my opinion, prices were inexpensive in comparison to the classy, upscale atmosphere. Drinks were cheap. It was one our favorite dining experiences in Samara.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We were excited to try this restaurant after reading the great reviews. Unfortunately it wasn't a very good experience. The atmosphere is on a side street with cars going by the whole time. It took us an hour and 15 minutes to get our food. We love French food but the food here really isn't even French. It's Italian with blue cheese added to everything to make it seem French. After waiting so long for our meal we were pretty disappointed. Nothing seemed homemade. The ravioli tasted like it came out of the freezer and the sauce out of a can. I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohannahD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great French Restaurant”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I ate at this restaurant four times on a visit to Sámara Beach last month. Each meal was fantastic. The owners and all of the people working at the restaurant are very friendly and helpful. All of the food was very well prepared and tasted fantastic. The Dorado and the french fries were especially good. All of the portions were appropriate and the presentation of the food was excellent. The prices were very reasonable. I give Ma Ma Gui the highest recommendation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma Ma Gui also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Ma Ma Gui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing