We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome pizza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ma Ma Gui

Ma Ma Gui
Ranked #2 of 74 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Thin crist pizza is delicious. We ordered fresh mushroom, sausage, oniom, pepper and fresh mozzarella. Yum!

The salad francise is also very good and large enough to share. Beer was cold and served in a frosty mug.

Located off the main drag.

They have WiFi too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LGB973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    93
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Enjoyed this little restaurant. The outdoor seating is right along the road but still enjoyable for us. The wine was good too. We got the Margherita pizza which was so good, perfect thin crust and fresh ingredients. Definitely give this place a try when you are in Samara!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amybunny27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Odd as is sounds with French cuisine and pizza, the chef is from Nice. The pizza is spectacular, and the fish special was scrumptious.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good very thin crust pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Really enjoy the pizza here, but the salads and other things we tried were good, but not great. Atmosphere is nice. Located a couple of blocks off the beach on the main road to Buena Vista. Service was very good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoonstruckArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hands down favorite in Samara.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was lucky enough to spend the entire month of December in Samara. I can say, without a doubt, this was my favorite restaurant overall. Most of the food you will encounter in Samara will be decent and somewhat tasty, but the food at Ma Ma Gui is one of the only standouts in the entire area. Every dish I had there was exceptional, from the pizza to the wonderfully priced dinner specials. It offers a charming atmosphere, even taking into account the occasional loud bus that may pass. I highly recommend any and all of the pizzas. The crust is paper thin and perfect, and they also have stumbled upon the perfect sauce to pizza ratio! I was also pleasantly surprised to arrive one evening and find a $6 (give or take) shish kabob dinner special. The meat was succulent and cooked perfectly. A friend joined us halfway through our meal, took one glance at my dish, and had to order it. He was not disappointed either. The price point is more than fair for the quality and amount of food. Last but not least I have to give a special "shout out" to the owners and the staff. They are very accommodating, and Id like to thank them for allowing me to practice my rusty high school level French on them.
(PS. The owners wife has a horseback riding business which is excellent. I ended up talking with her at the restaurant and ended up booking that evening. I have ridden for years and I was so happy to find her. Unlike the places on the beach she takes top notch care of her horses. They are all very happy and in excellent condition. As someone who has ridden her entire life I also HIGHLY recommend riding with her)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaitlinEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma Ma Gui also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Ma Ma Gui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing