We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ma Ma Gui

Ma Ma Gui
Ranked #6 of 63 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
cape cod, MA/naples, FL
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good thin crust pizza with all kinds of toppings. Played chess and had a delicious glass of chilled Italian wine while wainting for our pizza. Funky atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maryandkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    71
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Samara
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Recently discovered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I only recently discovered Ma Ma Gui, but it is now on my "once a week" gotta go list! A smallish place with a cozy "bistro" feel. Sit outside streetside or move indoors for the comfortable seating, relaxing music, soft lighting and nice decor. Try the tacos (totally different than anything you may expect, paper thin crust pizzas or the flank steak with melted blue cheese on top. My only downside, and it is minor, is that sometimes the owners get too busy socializing with the guests and service to others suffers for a bit - but I stilll go back for the great food and atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank costaricabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was the cheapest pizza I found and by far the best! I'm a sucker for a sexy thin crust and this thing was wafer. Eggplant, bacon, garlic, goat cheese...nomnomnom.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lomito with blue cheese sause is one of the best meals and deals in Samara.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A small and cousy restaurant in the center of samara. The owners and staff make you feel wellcome from the first visit on and the food makes you go back. Fast and good service combined with reasonable prices and excellent food makes it on the best places in Samara.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plinique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“open late, good people watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

A great place to sit and watch the town pass by. I've only ever tried the pizza which has a paper thin crust...try the one with eggplant and goat cheese, mmmm. A good place for games; chess, checkers etc.

Also, it's the only place in town that serves food until midnight!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma Ma Gui also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Ma Ma Gui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing