We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Recently discovered” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ma Ma Gui

Ma Ma Gui
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Playa Samara
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Recently discovered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I only recently discovered Ma Ma Gui, but it is now on my "once a week" gotta go list! A smallish place with a cozy "bistro" feel. Sit outside streetside or move indoors for the comfortable seating, relaxing music, soft lighting and nice decor. Try the tacos (totally different than anything you may expect, paper thin crust pizzas or the flank steak with melted blue cheese on top. My only downside, and it is minor, is that sometimes the owners get too busy socializing with the guests and service to others suffers for a bit - but I stilll go back for the great food and atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank costaricabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    77
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was the cheapest pizza I found and by far the best! I'm a sucker for a sexy thin crust and this thing was wafer. Eggplant, bacon, garlic, goat cheese...nomnomnom.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lomito with blue cheese sause is one of the best meals and deals in Samara.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

A small and cousy restaurant in the center of samara. The owners and staff make you feel wellcome from the first visit on and the food makes you go back. Fast and good service combined with reasonable prices and excellent food makes it on the best places in Samara.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plinique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“open late, good people watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

A great place to sit and watch the town pass by. I've only ever tried the pizza which has a paper thin crust...try the one with eggplant and goat cheese, mmmm. A good place for games; chess, checkers etc.

Also, it's the only place in town that serves food until midnight!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Magical place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

French chef's and owned, this place hums with understated beach expat style. People speaking all languages, chess boards and wine glasses sitting on low Turkish tables and high benches where you can watch locals and travellers alike putter past. Gourmet pizzas and salads alike are yummy and really affordable. We looked forward to our evenings here all week

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mugglesworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma Ma Gui also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Ma Ma Gui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing