We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Me gustan los tacos!”
Review of Lo Que Hay

Lo Que Hay
Ranked #6 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Bar, Seafood, Spanish, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lo Que Hay (It Is What It Is) is a lively beachside bar, serving tapas, tacos, nachos, and more. We've got delicious food, excellent views, and live music twice a week. Add in our extensive cocktail menu, ice-cold beer, and super staff, and we bet you'll feel right at home here. Bienvenidos!
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Me gustan los tacos!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Although I like to try different restaurants when I visit an area, I couldn't resist going back for more tacos at Lo Que Hay. The fish tacos were my favorite, but I enjoyed the others as well. Service was also friendly and the beach location and view is awesome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    302
    76
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Taco Tuesday!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I ate here a few times during our stay in Samara. The only surprise was that with this particular taco special it only consists of chirzo tacos. Other than that, you will find good food and good service. Bonnie is the owner and very kind. Be sure to bring your bug spray, it is directly on the beach. Great views!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teacherSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Taco tuesday”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went there for a beer, got informed about a deal: 1500 colones for and imperial and a taco ( chorizo). I liked it, the taco was nice, tomato fresh and the taco crunchy. My wife ordered a pina colada ( without taco :-) ) which was nicely mixed, great view of the surf. Very nice place, tomorrow ill go again for a tequila sunrise...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daponz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not for us!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

There was only one waitress there who gave us one look and ignored us !! Then after 10 mins told us if we had cash we could order!! My advice to her is don't judge based on ethnicity!! We had plenty of cash to stay there all day and night..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweets7132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Ate there all three nights of our stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Two adults and three teens. We all enjoyed the tacos, the burrito and the jalapeno poppers. Nice to be at the beach in the evening but watch for the mosquitoes. Good all around value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruce f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Que Hay also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Lo Que Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing