We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resource, plenty of info & good deals”

Samara-Carrillo Info Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Ocean Kayak and Snorkeling in Isla Chora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a free information center for residents and tourists of Samara & Carrillo and surrounding area. Our services extend from directions or bus schedules to recommendations for accommodations, restaurants, attractions, tours, transportation and events as well as what is happening in the community this week. Please feel free to contact us with any questions you may have or to promote your event or business. Thank you, Brenda Be Happy, Have Fun!
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome resource, plenty of info & good deals”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Brenda and Chris were awesome and helped us get our bearings during our stay in Samara. They have well organized binders full of info on local places to stay, restaurants, shops, grocery stores, activities and even ferry schedules for the far-away ferries to Puntarenas. They provide phone numbers to contact them for any questions you may have, whether you are in Samara, Panama, Nicaragua, jail or wherever!They even have a savings card for local bars & restaurants that you can get for free and use for discounts or free stuff (2x1, etc.). While we were there, they arranged a car rental with their corporate rate for the Alamo office across the street and we saved big, the Alamo guy even said so. Thanks guys, you definitely made our stay even more enjoyable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Verocaminando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hola! Thank you for that review. Very nice of you. Glad we were able to help and not in order to get you out of jail LOL It was a pleasure to meet you! Hope to see you around here in the near future again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    22
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puyo, Ecuador
1 review
“So helpful”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This couple runs the info center right down the street from the beach. They are in a convenient location, though their store front is quite small and easy to miss. They are soooooo nice and personable. Speak perfect English form the US and Canada I think. They helped me activate my phone after buying a Claro card, get a bus to Panama, get info for local tours. If they dont know something they will find out. It is not necessary to do all your trip planning on your own, they are there, just relax and enjoy the Pura Vida.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi V: Thank you very much for that very nice review. Really appreciate it and we are glad we were able to help you and make your vacation less stressful! Hope to see you back here after Panama :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“AMAZING People!!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Brenda and Chris are essentially a free concierge. They know everything about Samara and the surrounding area. Want to schedule a taxi to take you to and from the airport? Done. Need a massage? Booked. I don't have a car, how do I get to this other place I want to go to? Problem solved. ANYTHING you want to know or want to do, they can and will happily help you with.

My boyfriend and I wanted to go on a deep sea fishing trip, but it was too expensive for just the two of us. We mentioned this to Brenda and Chris and they said a guy had been in earlier that week in a similar situation who "wanted to go fishing as much as possible" during his 3 month trip. So Brenda and Chris hooked us all up and the three of us went on a half day trip that turned into a six hour trip. Why so long? We caught a fish THIS BIG!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank brigittetb411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hi B,

I was really nice to have met you guys and super excited we were able to hook you up with K and doubly excited that you caught 7 tuna and this 100 pound fish! WOW!!! Many people that passed through the info center after that heard about this story and saw the pics! Dinner must have been amazing! Sorry we could not join you. Hope to see you back in Samara in the near future! Say hello to D and his parents although I still think they are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Resource for Free”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

If you're planning to visit Costa Rica - then definitely contact Samara Info Center. They eagerly assist anyone with travel plans, questions, referrals and information on anything that is going on in Costa Rica. They are a free service that can help you with booking and they give you honest information about hotels, tours etc. When you chat with them - tell them that Rayna Says hello!

Visited January 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Rayna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hi R,

It was great to have been able to help you get to Samara!. Thank you for taking the time to stop by and say hola. It was very nice to chat with you for a while. I hope you had a good time in this area and I hope you now feel 100%. Hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“The BEST!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Brenda and Chris literally make it possible to have the smoothest vacation ever. They will do anything from book a fishing trip to write on a piece of paper so you can get help from the pharmacy. They have a plethora of information to cater to almost ay and every need you will have wile in Samara. If you go this is a MUST first stop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
HI D,

Thanks for the review! It was great to have seen you and B. Very excited about your fishing experience and the 100 pound fish you caught!!! Two thumbs up!!! See you again soon!!! Say hello to B and let us know if you mom needs any help while she is here :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samara-Carrillo Info Center also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Samara-Carrillo Info Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing