We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super helpful & awesome people!”

Samara-Carrillo Info Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Nature Hike at Werner Sauter Biological Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a free information center for residents and tourists of Samara & Carrillo and surrounding area. Our services extend from directions or bus schedules to recommendations for accommodations, restaurants, attractions, tours, transportation and events as well as what is happening in the community this week. Please feel free to contact us with any questions you may have or to promote your event or business. Thank you, Brenda Be Happy, Have Fun!
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in the Samara/Carrillo area. Brenda and Christopher were very helpful - especially in the planning stages of our trip. They helped with everything from lodging, transportation, restaurant discounts, advice, etc. Plus they were so good at making us feel welcome (& they speak English, which was a big plus for my non-Spanish speaking husband... :) They are truly kind, helpful people and love helping others - making the Info Center exactly what it should be... a fun, welcoming place with lots of assistance.
We LOVED our time in Samara and Playa Carrillo and hope to return again. My husband liked it so much, he's talking about moving there! lol

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Rhonda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

R, thanks so much for that wonderful review. It was really special to meet you and your husband. Maybe his next book with be based in CR!!! Hope our paths cross again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great resource"
in 20 reviews
"costa rica"
in 91 reviews
"car rental"
in 9 reviews
"free service"
in 6 reviews
"trip planning"
in 6 reviews
"right direction"
in 9 reviews
"one stop shop"
in 6 reviews
"lo que hay"
in 15 reviews
"place to stay"
in 6 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 8 reviews
"these guys"
in 17 reviews
"liberia airport"
in 10 reviews
"nature hike"
in 7 reviews
"turtle tour"
in 10 reviews
"pura vida"
in 15 reviews
"zip lining"
in 18 reviews
"christopher"
in 79 reviews
Filter

533 - 537 of 656 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Being new to Samara, we were fortunate enough to accidentally find the Samara.Carrillo Info center which was across the street from our hotel, Hotel Restaurante Giada. Brenda and Chris, the proprietors, where simply OUTSTANDING. They both speak english, answered all our questions and made some great suggestions regarding our stay in Samara. We found out that they could help arrange the tours and necessary transportation and it's important to note that we had to ask if they could assist since they don't push any sales on their visitors. All activities and transportation went off without any glitches.

If you visit Samara we would highly recommend a stop at the Samara.Carrillo Info center, hopefully making it your first stop if your new to Samara. When I travel I trust few people recognizing that many our simply out for the dollar. Believe me when I say Brenda and Chris earned my trust. Enjoy your travels: Mike and Susan

Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

M&S, thank you so much for that wonderful review. It was super great to be able to help you guys out and I really enjoyed the time we had to chat that one day you were waiting for your CD to be delivered to you. It was nice to get to know you guys a bit better. Thank you for the cooler, we will make sure other visitors take advantage of it. And also thank you for the wine. It was very sweet of you and we enjoyed it very much! We really hope that you guys come back to Samara in the near future. Cheers! B&C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Christopher is very helpful and makes you feel like you are at home in a foreign pllace. We have been looking for scuba diving trip in Samara, and we practically asked around every single info booth, but all of them said that only snorkeling is available in Samara. Christopher probably knows everyone in town, and he connected us with David who is also in ocean filming & diving in Samara. No service fee, and he quickly confirmed the scuba diving trip when we checked our email later on in the day. He would also give you good suggestions where to shop for groceries, free Spanish lesson, free movies and fun places to go. Highly recommend his service to anyone coming to Samara!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank CoCoLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Hi V, it was a pleasure to help you and be able to get you hooked with with David. He is great and his scuba services are very much appreciated here. I hope to see you again in the near future and be able to help you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wandering in for some info and left an hour later with a new friend.

You can travel the world over twice and not find as kind, fun, interesting people as those who run the Info Center!

Thank TheWriter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you much for that very kind review. It was a pleasure to help you and I hope that you stop into Samara again in the near future!! Warm hugs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our Samara vacation, made all the more stress free by Brenda and Chris at the Samara Info center. She was able to arrange several side trips for us, as well as arrange for our transportation to and from the airport. This came at no cost to us! Definitely recommend connecting with them if your ever in Samara, Costa Rica.

Thank Thane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you so much for that review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and to be able to help you while you where here. I am sure I will be seeing you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samara-Carrillo Info Center also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Samara-Carrillo Info Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing