We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your First Stop”

Samara-Carrillo Info Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Ocean Kayak and Snorkeling in Isla Chora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a free information center for residents and tourists of Samara & Carrillo and surrounding area. Our services extend from directions or bus schedules to recommendations for accommodations, restaurants, attractions, tours, transportation and events as well as what is happening in the community this week. Please feel free to contact us with any questions you may have or to promote your event or business. Thank you, Brenda Be Happy, Have Fun!
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Your First Stop”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Being new to Samara, we were fortunate enough to accidentally find the Samara.Carrillo Info center which was across the street from our hotel, Hotel Restaurante Giada. Brenda and Chris, the proprietors, where simply OUTSTANDING. They both speak english, answered all our questions and made some great suggestions regarding our stay in Samara. We found out that they could help arrange the tours and necessary transportation and it's important to note that we had to ask if they could assist since they don't push any sales on their visitors. All activities and transportation went off without any glitches.

If you visit Samara we would highly recommend a stop at the Samara.Carrillo Info center, hopefully making it your first stop if your new to Samara. When I travel I trust few people recognizing that many our simply out for the dollar. Believe me when I say Brenda and Chris earned my trust. Enjoy your travels: Mike and Susan

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
M&S, thank you so much for that wonderful review. It was super great to be able to help you guys out and I really enjoyed the time we had to chat that one day you were waiting for your CD to be delivered to you. It was nice to get to know you guys a bit better. Thank you for the cooler, we will make sure other visitors take advantage of it. And also thank you for the wine. It was very sweet of you and we enjoyed it very much! We really hope that you guys come back to Samara in the near future. Cheers! B&C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    22
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Honest, friendly & free service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Christopher is very helpful and makes you feel like you are at home in a foreign pllace. We have been looking for scuba diving trip in Samara, and we practically asked around every single info booth, but all of them said that only snorkeling is available in Samara. Christopher probably knows everyone in town, and he connected us with David who is also in ocean filming & diving in Samara. No service fee, and he quickly confirmed the scuba diving trip when we checked our email later on in the day. He would also give you good suggestions where to shop for groceries, free Spanish lesson, free movies and fun places to go. Highly recommend his service to anyone coming to Samara!

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank CoCoLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi V, it was a pleasure to help you and be able to get you hooked with with David. He is great and his scuba services are very much appreciated here. I hope to see you again in the near future and be able to help you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best People Ever”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wandering in for some info and left an hour later with a new friend.

You can travel the world over twice and not find as kind, fun, interesting people as those who run the Info Center!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheWriter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you much for that very kind review. It was a pleasure to help you and I hope that you stop into Samara again in the near future!! Warm hugs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Samara vacation”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our Samara vacation, made all the more stress free by Brenda and Chris at the Samara Info center. She was able to arrange several side trips for us, as well as arrange for our transportation to and from the airport. This came at no cost to us! Definitely recommend connecting with them if your ever in Samara, Costa Rica.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for that review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and to be able to help you while you where here. I am sure I will be seeing you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Helpful & Friendly”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Playa Samara for a couple of weeks. Since we don't speak Spanish and this is our first visit to Costa Rica, we find ourselves constantly going back to the info center for guidance. Brenda and Christopher are the most friendly and helpful people you could ever find. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for help in tour booking, suggestions for things to do in the vicinity or across the country, where to go for a great local meal or info about Costa Rica in general, etc.. They helped us put together itinerary for the rest of our trip, call up hotels to help with reservation, check bus schedules and connections etc. I wouldn't know what to do without them! Muchas Gracias!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendad288, Owner at Samara-Carrillo Info Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello! It was a real pleasure to be able to help during your stay here and your travels afterwards. Please send us feedback on how the rest of your trip went!!! You guys are super adventurous! Have fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samara-Carrillo Info Center also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Samara-Carrillo Info Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing