We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simple food at good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin marino

Jardin marino
Ranked #30 of 66 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Caribbean, South American, Central American, Costa Rican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple food at good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The restaurant facility is very basic -- old sign, cafeteria-like tables -- but the food is very tasty and the prices were a dollar or so cheaper than other restaurants on the main street in Samara. We went twice for lunch. Have the casado -- good with chicken or fish.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sash242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Reasonable casados”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is the cheapest place to eat in the center of Sámara. And the food is pretty good. A typical casado runs about $6-7, which is more expensive than much of Costa Rica, but a good price for a beach town. The guanabana refrescos are awesome, be sure to ask if they have any.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, simple, and cheap food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We got the casado con pescado. It was very simply prepared but excellent and very cheap. Very nice service. Would definitely return for a typical Costa Rican meal.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food, authentic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Playa Samara in late December, early January. Looking for a simple and affordable place to eat, we stumbled upon this open-air restaurant (on the main road coming into the town) on New Year's Eve after being declined by several beach restaurants for lack of reservations. We found the food to be excellent (fresh seafood) and the staff friendly. (I especially recommend the fish casado, the arroz con camarones, and the seafood pasta.) I would even venture to say that the food here was the best, most authentic food we had during our stay in Costa Rica. Not surprisingly, within a short period of time, the soda-style restaurant was packed with everyone from Tico families to other couples on vacation to groups of friends ready to go out to celebrate the New Year. We visited this restaurant several other times on our stay and were never disappointed. The best part was the price. I don't think we ever paid more than $20 US for 2 people, including drinks. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M_Funk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic simple lunch in Samara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Not a flashy place, but we had a good lunch at this open air restaurant on the main street, a couple blocks up from the beach. Get the casado (roughly means "plate of the house") for the best deal and the most typical food. Good service, clean, convenient. Had a mix of tourists and locals. Not much on atmosphere, but it has a feel of being an authentic Costa Rican experience. Even took a credit card. Located just across from the soccer field.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilma45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jardin marino also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Jardin marino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing