We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short, easy, beautiful river kayaking tour”

Samara Adventure Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Ocean Kayak and Snorkeling in Samara
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Turtle Tour Near Samara Beach
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Ocean Seafari Tour in Samara
Ranked #2 of 28 Tours in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are specialists in customizing your vacation for your specific interests and budget. We can organize all the details of your trip, from your arrival at the airport until the time to say goodbye. We offer activities, hotel reservations, and transportations for almost anywhere in Costa Rica. Let us take care of the bookings and logistics of your trip so that you can relax and enjoy this beautiful country! SAMARA ADVENTURE COMPANY IS A COSTA RICAN FAMILY-OWNED BUSINESS ESTABLISHED IN 2004. ALTHOUGH KNOWN AS AN OUTSTANDING TOUR OPERATOR COMPANY HEADQUARTERED IN SAMARA BEACH, IT IS WELL RENOWNED TO PROVIDE DISTINCT TRANSPORTATION SERVICES AS WELL.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Alex guided us on a relaxing river kayaking tour pointing out the varied flora and fauna and telling a few tourist jokes to further entertain us. What a beautiful country! We enjoyed ourselves. By the time we got to the mouth of the river at the Pacific ocean, the waves were crashing and the sky was angry. Tide was HIGH, but it was incredibly beautiful. Thoughtfully, Alex provided a light snack of fresh pineapple and crackers with cold drinks. After a quick snack we hurriedly paddled back to avoid the impending downpour and made it just in time. We can't wait to come back and try a few more adventures!

Thank Backpackerswithdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidortega, Owner at Samara Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

I greatly appreciate your sincere comments about the beautiful scenes Samara has to offer and about our tour! We always like to hear feedback from our clients to keep improving and giving the best services possible. Glad to hear you didn´t get caught in one of Costa Rica´s legendary downpours. Please come back and visit us soon, we have a lot more adventures awaiting you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 309 of 352 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

8 Of us decided to do the kayak tour so we went there and the staff was great. Alex and the man with him went out of their way to show the kids things living inder rocks, some star fish things..an Eal....He really made the trip fun and gave it a personal touch..so huge THANK YOU to Alex !! Maybe some people expect to be waited on hand and foot-- We didnt and I have to say the people in Samara in general were very nice. We has a Blast. Thank you again to your staff and keep up the good work!! Mike---West Hartford Connecticut June-2012

Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidortega, Owner at Samara Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your comment. I am glad to know that you liked the tour and our guide!! It is always nice to have someone who knows what to look for out there in the water. Samara Adventure Company is dedicated to making your vacation fun, and it is great to hear we accomplished that with your family! Come back to Costa Rica soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We just returned from Samara Costa Rica. We used Skynet tours for three different excursions.
The first was the inshore fishing trip. We were told that it would cost $250.00 which included
fresh fruit, drinks and 4 hours of fishing. When we arrived to the boat, it was 20 ft open bow
boat. The drinks included were an open 1 liter of coca cola and a couple of canned beers.
There was no fresh fruit.... We went troll fishing and after two hours, I felt like this was a very
expensive boat ride as the two crew members hooked up the three fishing poles and left
them down in the water. We went around back and forth in the water for two hours and after no bites on the rods, I requested some bait to bottom fish. The crew members stated that they did not bring bait along for the trip! We did catch three fish trolling but it was not what we expected.
This was a VERY over priced boat ride and was far less than what was expected. Very disappointed. The crew members were nice and courteous but this was not worth $250.00.
The other two excursions were fabulous but I felt that after paying $610.00 for three tours, we
should have been partially reimbursed for the fishing excursion. The Palo Verde Tour was
fabulous and our tour guide Alberto was dynamite! Very helpful, kind, courteous and the
best guide ever! The Canopy zipline tour was excellent as well! I am rating this poor as Skynet
subcontracts some of their business to other people and they really need to know with whom
they are doing business, as to maintain a reputation so that people would want to return. We loved Costa Rica and do plan on returning, but am skeptical about booking a trip with this
company. Ronnie&Lois

Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidortega, Owner at Samara Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Hello! First, I would like to thank you for your comments; we welcome honest criticism as it helps us improve as a business. We were very disappointed to hear of your displeasure with the Inshore Fishing trip. We have taken measures to better ensure that the quality of the tour providers we work with are of the same quality as our own tours. Unfortunately, it is difficult to control every part of an operation such as ours, try as we might! I would like to point out that the Palo Verde tour is OUR tour, and you were very pleased by it, describing our guide as “the best guide ever.” We understand that your reason for rating our business as poor, but we would have hoped that given that 2 out of 3 of your tours were fabulous, you could have rated it a little more in the middle. At the time you were still in Costa Rica, we offered free surf lessons to compensate for your dissatisfaction with the Inshore Fishing, but the tides didn´t correlate well with your schedule. If you ever decide to come back to Costa Rica, we would be very happy to give you a free tour! Thank you for the kind words about our two tours, and again, we are sorry for your frustration with the other tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My Partner and I wanted to book a Stand Up Paddle tour. We went into skynet tours because it was recommended to us from the local surfboard rental business. When we first walked in, none of the staff made eye contact with us for about 5 minutes, we felt ignored. We had to approach them and then we were told that they can't rent out boards as they have no waiver forms at the moment.
Great, so we left and went to another info centre, specifically because we did not want to give Skynet our business after the way we were treated. Unfortunately the company we went to, does their booking through skynet, so indirectly, we had to book through them. We were told to be out the front of Skynet tours at 8am the next morning. The staff did not turn up until around 8:15, and again ignored us until we approached them. They then continued to tell us that they told us that we were supposed to meet at 1:00pm not 8:00am. I'll admit, they did try to get the Stand up Tour tour guide to come in but he would not be able to arrive for another hour, which we could not do!
All in all, it is a terribly run business, and just across the road is another info centre with much nicer staff.

1  Thank BrigandEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidortega, Owner at Samara Adventure Company, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Dear Brig and Eric,
We are glad that you have brought your dissatisfaction to our attention; we are always looking to improve our business and, above all, our customer service, in any way possible. Indeed, we have recently redesigned our entire office layout, and discontinued our internet café in order to better focus on our main concerns: the clients of our tours and transportation services.
To more specifically address your situation, there are several instances of communication and information failure. First of all, we deeply regret your feelings of being ignored. Sometimes people come into our office simply to look at the books and postcards for sale, if they do not directly approach the desks, it may not be clear they are looking for information from us. Nevertheless, we try to make a point to say hello to anyone who enters the office. Clearly, and unfortunately, it did not happen that day.
Next, the fact is that we do not rent out paddle boards, with or without waiver forms. We only do the Stand Up Paddle Tour. For a time we opened up the possibility of renting the boards, but only after the clients had taken a tour with us in order to ensure they knew how to handle the equipment properly. I am not sure why the information that was relayed to you was not as such. It seems that somehow incorrect information was given to you, and for that we apologize.
As for the debacle the day of your SUP Tour, it seems it was a case of miscommunication between the person that reserved the tour for you (not our company), and our office. We do the tour either in the morning or the afternoon, depending on the tides. Perhaps the person who reserved the tour had previously reserved it with the time of 8:00 am and assumed it would be the same, not realizing the need to check the tides.
All we can do at this point is send our sincere regrets that you had a negative experience with us, and use your feedback in order to assure that the type of service described does not happen again. Thank you for calling these faults to our attention; we welcome every day as an opportunity for us to refine and improve our company and its relationships. We hope that our explanation can provide you with a little bit of understanding of the situation and with the confidence that we will do everything we can to avoid an instance like yours in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Skynet Tours is the best in town (Samara). We took a river tour with Bernie and had a wonderful experience. They also arranged for transportation back to Liberia. As we experienced firsthand, there are several "tour operators" that don't have the language skills or the knowledge about the environment, animals, history culture, etc. Skynet Tours does. This was illustrated when we went on a snorkeling trip with another vendor. When we made it out to the location for snorkeling, the tour operator didn't have snorkels for us!! He had to actually borrow snorkels from the Skynet operator who happened to be there too. Skynet graciously loaned the snorkels to us and even gave us tips on where to snorkel. Skynet is a true class act.

1  Thank Sue27Litteton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samara Adventure Company also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Samara Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing