We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel with super friendly staff.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho De La Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rancho De La Playa
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average hotel with super friendly staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The overall first impression of this hotel is nice and cozy.
There was life music that night witch can be a bit of a concern if you're staying there with children or if you want to go to sleep early.
We stayed in the bar because it's better to join if you can't beat them. LOL
The staff was super super super friendly and worked really hard to make sure nobody was without a drink.
The music was nice so if you have a chance to meet Milo the musician, do it. The guy is a trip.
The room we had was very nice with 3 beds, queen and two singles. I took the queen right under the ceiling fan, temperature was good without AC but the matress was incredibly thin.
The bathroom was small but clean with just enough water pressure to get wet and to take a shower, don't think you can enjoy your shower.
There is a nice small pool, big enoug to do some laps in the morning. 9 mtr/30 ft
The room was cheaper than the hostel around the corner where they asked min 16 USD for a dorm bed. Here we payed 30 for the room with TV.
CONCLUSION: If you don't need to go to sleep early, you dont want to sleep in and you like a clean room and don't want to pay to much, GO THERE!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurucostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    30
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
31
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really a great deal - nice clean room. A/C that actually works, shower that delivers hot water, satellite TV, kitchenette: in a word: worth at least the price (($50/per night in low season). Warning: if you a 5 Star hotel person, not your place. In fact, Samara itself is not a place for 5 Star Hotel people - go to Tamarindo or Miami Beach! This is a super good 3 Star hotel! With dirt cheap prices for the quality.

The pool that is sparkling clean, you are 5 minutes walk from the beach. The town itself is laid back and lovely. Sit in a bar/restaurant on the beach, go into the tropical water or walk down long stretches of beach.

July is "winter" here - overcast much of the time, rainy sometimes for an hour or two. Really cold - about 31 for those who use Celsius, about 9F1 for the USA. Gorgeous!

The staff at the hotel are superb. Roberto, one of the two owners, is a very outgoing Italian. He is an excellent host who makes sure that the hotel runs like clockwork. He speaks decent English, more fluent Spanish and of course Italian. My first day there he stirred me to Playa (Beach) Carrillo - about 7 kilometres away. Although Playa Samara is not commercialized like Tamarindo or the areas north of there, Carrillo is without any commercial development - just a beautiful beach used primarily by Ticos and without bars or any other such. Take a water bottle or a few cans of beer in a cooler! And, as the signs say, take your garbage with you. And people do - both beaches are clean and lack litter.

The bar manager, Megan, originated in New York. Talks like a machine gun, both in Spanish and English. Assessing me in minutes as a (old) guy who wasn't 5 Star and liked to go to places that were good and very much Costa Rican, she showed me on the town map how to get to Pablito's - I would never have found it in the 4 days I had in Samara otherwise. Lunch - a bowl of beef and vegetable stew/soup with rice and a beer - $2.

Bar/restaurant staff - beautiful, talkative (better in Spanish but some English/French for the language disadvantaged).

The food is excellent - good, bountiful Tico food. As with the drinks, extremely reasonable prices at a resort.

Bonus: 3 nights a week, live music.

If it sounds like I was knocked out by this place, you got it right!! I am going to make this a regular stop when I am in Costa Rica. Can't wait for December.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoda3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have a bit of a traveling problem; I travel the earth when I can and because of this, there are times where I have had to learn to rely on the kindness of strangers.

Two nights ago was one of those occasions. Having to catch a bus in Samara at 4:30 in the morning, I had to take a cab from Nosara to Samara late at night the night before. For some reason, I had forgotten to go to the ATM and I had virtually no Colones to my name; however, I wasn't worried. I knew Samara had an ATM and I thought..."No problem, I will go to the bank when we get there and get the driver his money and thank him." What I didn't know is Samara closes both its ATMS at 10pm every night for security reasons. I found this out at 11pm when we pulled up. Luckily, I was able to make arrangements to pay the driver through Costa Rica Yoga Spa through a Paypal invoice, but that still left me with no cash to my name and I was faced with sleeping on the streets of Samara until my bus pulled in the morning...homeless in Samara...I can think of worse places to be homeless; however, being homeless sucks just the same.

So there I was..on the streets of Samara sitting on my too big of suitcase when an angel appeared. The angle was int he form of a cab driver named Carlos and as he listened to my story of woe in my broken Spanish...he told me he could help me...he dialed something on his phone and then led me to Rancho de la Playa...I had to tell Carlos that I had no cash to pay for a hotel and they would have to take credit card. His reply?

"No problemo."

So, I followed him to a place I had been before a few weeks back. A place I had liked but had only gone there to see the amazing local musician Milo Corrales who plays a wicked concert there every Wednesday night. When I had seen Milo, Rancho de la Playa was pumping with soulful sounds and some of the most beautiful people I had ever seen.

When Carlos and I arrived on this fateful night, the place was dark and I knew why...it was Thursday and the whole town was doing their dance somewhere else...including one of the owners, Tony.

However, Carlos didn't skip a beat. He used his phone, spoke less than 3 minutes on the phone and told me that Tony would be right there.

Sure enough, Tony drop his boogie to come out of his way to give me a room. Not only did he let me put the charge of the room on my card (the rate of which was incredibly reasonable....like the best deal I had in Costa Rica yet), but Tony also let me put charges to Carlos' services on my card as well.

Then, the doorman showed me to my incredibly clean room and he assured me that he would wake me up at 3:30am, so that I would make my bus. This allowed me to get a few hours of sleep under a roof before I set trails to San Jose. Moreover, the doorman followed through with his word and came to room at 3:30 am on the dot.

In all my travels, this kind of experience is rare. A wonderful place that provides fun and shelter to its guests at an incredibly great deal when they are located in a such a beautiful place where they could charge an arm and leg and PLUS, the owner himself is willing to go out of his way to a guest who is only there to stay for a few hours of rest...thank you, Rancho de La Playa, the kindness you showed me will not be forgotten...thank you for the rest...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rgurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuesta Grande, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in Samara and managed by a small but efficient, multi-lingual staff. It is 2 minutes from Playa Samara, one of the cleanest and safest beaches in Costa Rica.
This hotel and restaurant is very family orientated with a clean pool and fully stocked bar. The downside of our visit is that we could not take the chef home--an expert in seafood preparation and casados tipicos.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel was a nice hotel. The rooms were clean, the pool was nice(although it had some stuff that could easily be cleaned out), and the staff were wonderful. Overall it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggiCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stayed in countless hostals and Rancho de la Playa ranks along with the best I have stayed in.

Friendly and efficient staff who showed me a number of rooms with/without aircon, private/dormitory to fit most budgets.

The food was great, the pool was excellent and the live music in the evening was the cherry on top of the icing on the cake.

Many thanks to Megan and her team who were incredibly professional and who ALL made me feel welcome - even though I was only staying one night!

Room Tip: If you can afford a room with aircon go for it, Samara gets hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickStClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I arrived in early April and planned on staying for a couple of weeks.
I asked the staff about security and I was told that it was safe.
So I left my personal belongings and first my IPhone was stolen form my phone and then some of my money was stolen from hotel room.
My advise is to stay away . If you do go do not trust anyone there.
I left early because I wanted to relax and rest and I found to stressful to stay and be worrying about getting rob in a place that you put your trust on.
Very sad and disappointed with this place . I was asking the locals Americans and I was told that alot of theft goes on in Samara. I was told that one of the Local americans had been rob over 5 times. I have travel extensively and this ranks with one of my worst experiences.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marco g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#16 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho De La Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho De La Playa

Property: Rancho De La Playa
Address: 75 metros oeste de casa Paraiso | Nicoya Guanacaste, Playa Samara NA, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel located in the center of Samara and 75 meters from one of the most beautiful beach in Costa Rica. We offer a variety of rooms to meet your travel needs with wonderful accommodations. We offer rooms from 20$ to 110$,like a Dorms,Private rooms with air conditioning a shared bathroom and kitchen,Private rooms with air conditioning and own bathroom,Also we have 4 fully equipped apartments. All rooms have a Cable tv and wi-fi free at the room Hotel and Pool surrounded in a tropical garden with fruits trees, Possible Transport to / from Airports, Laundry service, Parking, Free Internet WiFi. You can enjoy a cocktail poolside, free high speed internet, enjoy various kind of breakfasts, The restaurant is open only for big events and every saturday we serve a dinner at the hotel when we arrange a Live Music night. Also let us to arrange a variety of tours for you during your stay. We speak English, Italian, and Spanish. Come to enjoy your best travel with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rancho De La Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing