We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable place to stay.”
Review of Rancho De La Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rancho De La Playa
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Phillip the owner is a people oriented person. He did not have exactly what we wanted so he gave us something better at a sweet price. He is a gourmet cook (French) and so if you can talk him into cooking for you then you will be in for a treat. He and his staff are there to help the guests enjoy themselves. When I go back to Samara it is the Rancho De La Playa that I will be staying at.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juddtuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Rancho De La Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 118 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

We only went to have dinner but have been going back weekly to get the langosta (lobster). For $12 you get 2 giant lobster tails and a salad and potatoes. The staff are from Belgium and very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsully36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed one night in another hotel in Samara and were looking to get out of there when someone recommended Rancho de la Playa to us. We were very pleasantly surprised with the accomodations, we ended up staying a week when our original plan was just a couple days and they were great with getting us available rooms. The French family that runs the hotel couldn´t be any nicer or friendlier, they allowed us to use their computers and served a great crepe breakfast in the morning.

The location is great, it is a super, easy walk to the beach, and is located near many supermarkets and other things you may need like ATMs etc. I definitely recommend this hotel, it is a great place to lay in a hammock, lay by the pool or get involved in a game of ping-pong.

Room Tip: Ask for air-conditioning it gets hot there!
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbecka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Hi Everyone!
I recently stayed at Rancho de la playa and would highly recommend it. I had a fabulous dinner there of Lobster by the pool and met some really wonderful people (it was caught that day--I don't know if it's a regular thing, but I would highly recommend trying lobster!).

Rancho de La Playa is also walking distance to the beach,--so everything is at your finger tips in terms of surf lessons, grocery shopping, and even a nearby gym. Another awesome part of Rancho de la playa is that the setting gives you a very private feeling as if you were outside of town. The pool is beautiful, and the plants that surround it give you a sense of privacy. I stayed in a room with a kitchenette and air conditioning-with a queen size bed--a nice break after being outside in the heat all day.

The bar and restaurant draws in a whole international crowd, so it's easy to feel at home here. I have met some great friends here. I would highly recommend staying at Rancho de la playa as you get to know wonderful Samara.

Room Tip: request a room with air conditioning or kitchen!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueheron8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

we didn-t stay in this hotel but i need to wrote something since they helped us during our short time (5 hours) in Samara. We were in a hotel in Playa grande and we decided to take a short trip in Samara and playa carillo , once we arrived after one hour and half driving almost soon my old dad didn-t feel very well . There was 2 choices..back to Playa grande without visiting samara and carillo or lookingfor a room for my dad for few hours...
The woman in the reception (i think was the owner) gave us without rpoblem a room with a huge discount and my dad went to sleep for few hours. At the end my and my family we had time to visit a little playa samara and carillo .
thank you for the helpfull staff of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank ARNOLDO B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: No elegir la de arriba, es una habitacion para enanos
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mimimartorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
894 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho De La Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho De La Playa

Address: 75 metros oeste de casa Paraiso | Nicoya Guanacaste, Playa Samara NA, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range: $43 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel located in the center of Samara and 75 meters from one of the most beautiful beach in Costa Rica. We offer a variety of rooms to meet your travel needs with wonderful accommodations. We offer rooms from 20$ to 110$,like a Dorms,Private rooms with air conditioning a shared bathroom and kitchen,Private rooms with air conditioning and own bathroom,Also we have 4 fully equipped apartments. All rooms have a Cable tv and wi-fi free at the room Hotel and Pool surrounded in a tropical garden with fruits trees, Possible Transport to / from Airports, Laundry service, Parking, Free Internet WiFi. You can enjoy a cocktail poolside, free high speed internet, enjoy various kind of breakfasts, The restaurant is open only for big events and every saturday we serve a dinner at the hotel when we arrange a Live Music night. Also let us to arrange a variety of tours for you during your stay. We speak English, Italian, and Spanish. Come to enjoy your best travel with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rancho De La Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing