We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What they close before 7 pm?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hideaway Hotel

Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #47 of 74 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: I want to review the restaurant, not the hotel (lodging).
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What they close before 7 pm?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We live locally to the Hideaway Hotel and restaurant for part of the year. After reading such glowing reviews and good descriptions of the food and deserts we tried to go last night. We arrived at 6:50 pm and were told to look around. When we asked to be seated we were told the restaurant was closed sorry.
Since it was was only now 6:56 we asked when it closed and were told 6:45. The girl was not even plesant but since we were 11 minutes late there was nothing they could do.
It is my impression had we arrived at 6:45 it would have been closed at 6:30 so what ever you do NEVER waste your time trying to use it as a restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCTomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monreal, Owner at Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We are a small boutique hotel, with a restaurant providing early dinner service. We are open to the public, we do request reservations for dinner and our last seating is 6:45pm. When we have dinner guests, we do stay open later so they may enjoy their evening. We are open throughout the day for lunch. Since we had no reservations that evening, we did close the kitchen. We did offer appetizers, drinks and dessert to this reviewer, even though our kitchen was already closed and cleaned for the evening. Our hotel guests often choose to eat at our restaurant several times throughout their stay, because they say our food & service really are excellent. I hope this reviewer is willing to make a reservation, and truly experience a meal with us.
Sincerely,
Doug Ancel & Rosy Rios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We didn't stay at this hotel but had a very nice lunch here out by the pool area. It is owned by an American expat who. Came out to say hello to us which I thought was nice. We had a veg pizza and a hamburger. Good sized portions and both were very tasty! I also had the coconut ice cream for dessert which was good.

It is a bit pricey, but worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sumo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Excellent service. That is the stand out here. The owners are very helpful and friendly as are the staff. Everyone speaks fluent English. The grounds are well maintained and the rooms are clean and spacious. Apart from the hotel's bar and restaurant, the town with restaurants and bars is a 30+ min walk away, so you have to keep this in mind in planning your day. It is called 'Hideaway', so that's the whole idea. You aren't in the thick of it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Onesimusmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We actually stayed at the house next door, but ate breakfast here every morning. The owners, Doug and Rosie, are the nicest, most personable people we met. I will not hesitate to stay at their hotel on a return visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dgwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Loved the hotel - great place to unwind, surf, eat, swim. Recommended to all but worth noting it's a 40 min walk on the beach from town, or a 4,000 colones ($8) taxi ride.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Hotel also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing