We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“excellent down home food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hideaway Hotel

Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #41 of 67 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: I want to review the restaurant, not the hotel (lodging).
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent down home food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

food very tastey and nicely presented. Basic hamburger was delicious and and homemade icecream was excellent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Micro beer and home made Ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We did not stay here but we did go just for the beer and Ice cream! But....while we were there we checked out the hotel and talked to some of the guests staying there... I was craving some good dark beer and my kids are suckers for Ice cream. I went to every store in Samara for a good dark beer and they only carry one kind and most of the time its out of stock! A friend told me about Hideaway hotels micro brew they carried and I was on a mission. My kids were so excited about the homemade icecream... We walked there...on the beach from the center of town. It took us about 15 mins. It was worth it! The hotel grounds are beautiful! .There is a nice pool, and lounge area conveniently located next to the bar. The honeymooners next to us could not stop talking about how nice their room was with the granite and so on. The owners came to our table and greated us and made us feel very welcomed. My kids loved the ice cream ! Oh and the beer was awsome!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling4Tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the name says it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

the Hideaway Hotel is beautful and what a place to stay while you,re visiting Samara. the beach is a few minutes away and Doug and Rosie who own the hotel are amazing

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gazoo7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Make room for dessert.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

The food was absolutely delicious. No one in my family was disappointed by their meals. After dinner, we had the homemade ice cream. It was the best ice cream I've ever had. The brownies were phenomenal too :)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Briteedubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
179 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great delicious food, drinks & homemade items!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at Hideaway Hotel and were so happy that we also seemed to be staying at one of the best restaurants as well! Not only are the grounds beautiful but the staff and owner are so nice, accommodating & truly make you feel welcome. We ate all kinds of different items from the menu including: Mango margaritas, guacamole, burgers (amazing), pastas, etc. There is nothing that I wouldn't order again...it was that good. And of course the homemade ice cream was the finishing touch! They had banana splits and a brownie topped with 3 scoops of ice cream so you could try one of each. The ice cream flavors we tried were mint chocolate chip (my favorite), cinnamon chocolate chip and cookies & cream. Everything was great and we ate almost every meal here! If you're in this area or going to go from Samara over to Playa Carrillo or La Selva Wildlife Refuge, stop in for a drink and/or some food! :-)

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheVillaHermosaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Hotel also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing