We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Playa Samara
Post
Inbox
Search
  
Recommended experiences in and around Playa Samara
from $39.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
249
16
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
249
16
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dry tropical forest beat the heat wonderful walk fauna and flora nature hike bring water great morning morning tour bug spray fresh fruit local greens land birds trees bernie guide indigenous
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 267 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2015

It was such a treat to have the opportunity to explore the beautiful landscape of this nature reserve with our guide Alvaro, whose grandfather owns the land. His expertise and devotion to all aspects of the delicate ecosystem were so inspiring and we loved learning about all of the plants and animals that inhabit it. And the spectacular aerial view of Samara at the end of the trail is stunning! This is an experience not to be missed!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank AlexLovesSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2015 via mobile

We were looking for a nature reserve not to far from Tamarindo. Samara is about 2h away and Samara trails had good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.

Alvaro, the grand-child of the owner of the reserve was our guide. He brings to the tour a lot of interesting facts about the forest, plants, birds and animals in the reserve. We tasted a few nuts, plants and fruits that grow in the forest and got many tips on what to eat if you get stranded in the jungle.

The hike is about 5km long and easy to do for anyone.

We say many birds and a lot of howler monkeys, as well as frogs and lizards.

All in all a great experience, which I would recommend to anyone

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank JEAN-FRANCOIS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2015 via mobile

We took a beautiful morning hike thru the jungle of Samara by our guide, Alvaro, whose grandfather owns this nature preserve. He was very knowledgeable on his country, the plant and animal life and the preservation of the native fauna. We tasted plants, termites and he pointed out many various species along our hike. We all enjoyed our time with him, the fresh fruit he provided and his expertise. At the end of our journey, many howler monkeys were in the trees and there were great photo opportunities. If you are looking to do a nature hike, Alvaro and Samara Trails should be your choice.

Muchas gracias, Alvaro!!

Manuela, Eden and Paula

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Wella1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2015

If you are in the area, put this on your list. Alvaro was a fantastic guide though the hills of samara. We hiked for about 2.5 hours with our boys 8 &.11. We saw tons of monkeys, birds, frogs, iguanas, owls and even a coral snake and nearly stepped on a boa constrictor. We learned so much about the land and Alvaro was great with the kids. Don't forget to try the termites, very tasty!! Alvaro does this to teach others about his family's land, great guy and guide.

Date of experience: May 2015
4  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2015

We took a two hour hike nature walk with Alvaro. It was done on our last day, and it was wonderful to have someone explain the plants, and both the quiet and the loud birds. So hard to find without experience.

Of the three tours we did, this was both the best, and the best price.

Alvaro was both engaging and interesting and his English was impeccable and natural, so easy to have a good conversation with him

Date of experience: May 2015
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews