We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature Hike at Samara”
Review of Samara Trails

Samara Trails
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.99*
and up
Samara Trails Including Werner Sauter Biological Reserve
Ranked #5 of 28 Tours in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Samara Trails is a trail system within the private 346 acre Werner Sauter Wildlife Refuge. The Refuge is in Dry Tropical forest and contains various species of plants and animals including monkeys, birds, mammals, and amphibians. The hike takes approximately 3-4 hours to complete - private hikes are completed at 7am or 3:00 pm and are led by experienced and bilingual guides.
garnabocor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nature Hike at Samara”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hiking this trail was great. We loved learning about how interactive nature is and watching all the howler monkeys.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank garnabocor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    13
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Way to see Tropical Dryforest which in Samara”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was in Samara last summer for a Spanish Immersion program and found out about Samara Trails. This was a great excursion that was well worth the money. The tropical dryforest is a unique ecosystem and it was really cool to get to know more about it. The guide, Alvaro, takes visitors through the forest for about 3+ hours, which includes a snack. His grandfather owns the land, which he put aside years ago for the main purpose on conservation. While on the tour, we learned a lot of interesting facts and tidbits about the different types of trees, such as the strangler figs, guanacaste (the tree from which the province got its name), as well as many more. We also saw many different tropical bird species, which Alvaro also knew a lot about. In my opinion, the most magnificent were the turquoise-browned motmot, adn the long-tailed manakin. At the point where we stopped to eat (fresh pineapple, watermelon, and granola provided by Alvaro), we had a spectacular view of Playa Samara and Chola Island.

The best part of the excursion however was Alvaro himself. He is very knowledgeable (I can't remember exactly what his degree was in, but it was related to organic/sustainable farming) and an overall great guy. He is bi-lingual and asked if we wanted the tour in Spanish or English. Since we were Spanish language students, we opted for the tour in Spanish. He was very easy to understand and seemed like he knew the exact moments when if was necessary to switch over to English. I really enjoyed the little stories he told us, such as how a certain tree is called "the tourist tree" because it's bark flakes off the same way a tourist's does after getting sunburn. At one point, I got to eat termites (don't worry, this isn't a requirement on the tour). After the tour was over, we tried to tip Alvaro but he said no and just to meet him for drinks/dinner instead. We met him that week for dinner and had a great time talking about all kinds of topics. Of course he didn't let us pay there either. Anyway, if you are in Samara, Samara Trails is a tour not to be missed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Excursion”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the best excursion we went on in Costa Rica. Albierto is very educated and knowledgeable on the traditional Ticos as well as nature. Throughout the hike he taught us different animals and tree/plant/flower species. Also there was opportunities to try different fruits, as well as termites if you so choose. When we reached the point of our snack the view was absolutely breath taking. I would highly recommend this adventure to anyone who visits. My boyfriend and I both agreed it was the best activity we did during our trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindz131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely worth it”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

In a country full of incredible tours, Samaratrails stands out as the best. Alvaro, the grandson of the Werner Sauter, was exceedingly knowledgeable, friendly, and dedicated to both conservation and to honoring the traditions, history, and culture of the people of Costa Rica. Not only was the tour beautiful and fun, but you got to support the re-growth of the tropical dry forest.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hike on the forest”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hike with Alvaro was excellent. He is very knowledgeable and leads a relaxing hike at a good pace. I highly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samara Trails also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Samara Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing