We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the same as Samara Trail - great hike!!!”

Werner Sauter Biological Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Nature Hike with Naturalist at The Werner Sauter Biological Reserve
Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is the same as Samara Trail - great hike!!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hike is also called Samara Trail, which is where I posted my review. It's a terrific hike - not to be missed when visiting Samara.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EnoughBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mango's Monkey's Mountain & Meondor”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Alvaro is very friendly and knowledgable of the area in many ways. He taught us alot of how the area grew back into a jungle from a farm area. We say Howler Monkeys and lots of birds. Alvaro also pointed out the different kinds of flora. He showed us how to drink water from plants and eadible bugs and leaves. I ate some turmits (pretty good actually). This tour was definatly worth the money spent. Not only are you contributing to Alvaro's business but are helping sustain the natural environment. Alvaro also gave us some mango's that were in season. The hike up the mount was not very difficult but then again not for someone who has difficulty walking a block or so. He goes at the pace of the slowest person. For us that was no problem there was only my wife and I on the tour. I would recommend this tour and wish Alvaro all the best in his business and future plans for the area. He wants to make a difference in this world by preserving nature. He speaks excellent english. Hope this review helps you out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Man_Stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hike Samara Trails”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This a great place to get into the forest habitat without the drive to a national park. A tour hour guided hike will show you lots of animals and birds plus incredible views of Playa Samara. I send all my guests.

Helpful?
Thank fundido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing adventure!!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was a hi lite of our trip to Costa Rica. Alvaro was an informed guide and taught us so much about the eco system of the area. We saw monkeys, tarantula nests, trees and plants. And the most amazing view at the top of the hill overlooking Samara and Carillo beaches. He even refreshed us with fresh pineapple and watermelon at the top. We went on the afternoon tour and saw an amazing sunset.... Awesome!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasLuxurygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“an amazing place”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

if you are in Samara, you should take a couple of hours to explore the local forest with knowledgable naturalist Alvaro. The walk is gorgeous and the sightings of birds endless. Beautiful views, I am looking forward to doing this again!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank gebgdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Werner Sauter Biological Reserve also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Werner Sauter Biological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing