We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Vision, Value, Vacation Refuge for Friends Group...”
other travelers have booked this property
The Logan , Tiki BarBQ , and Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Logan , Tiki BarBQ , and Pool
The Logan at dusk Front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
The Logan , Tiki BarBQ , and Pool
The Logan at dusk
Front
entrance
The courtyard
Poolside lounging
Outdoor shower
Jungle for neighbors
Modern Interiors
Full terraces and balconies
Full kitchens with dishwashers and ice makers
TV in the table
full luxury sleeping
Large modern bathrooms with raintower showers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ZuckArt
White Salmon, WA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Vision, Value, Vacation Refuge for Friends Group, Family Gathering, Wedding”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Where do I start? Quinn & Monika are great; easy to reach, communicate w/, available w/out being cloying, fun, responsible owner/managers. We have stayed at Villa Blanca twice and put up a wedding party at The Logan last Spring. I wouldn't hesitate to stay either place again (joyfully) or recommend to close friends / family. They pay attention to details, usually in person, and their website spells out "the scoop" in detail(s), very creatively. And, the detail is not a romantic ideal / front, but reality. Additionally, I have found if you have any disagreement or concerns re your own vacation priorities, they are quick to listen and assist, if they can.

What they have dreamed, created, and I believe, are committed to, is demonstrated in the construction of The Logan, a refuge w/ a modern, industrial vibe, that is environmentally conscious while being extremely comfortable, and very "in tune" with it's hometown, Samara. That makes me happy, because outside my own small hometown in the Pacific Northwest, I've never fallen in love with a small town as much as I have with Samara.

Seldom does an industrial vibe feel especially welcoming to me, but in their commitment to environmental practice, sustainable design, and building w/ home place in mind, they have succeeded in making an atmosphere of cool retreat. The architectural design is tasteful and arty. In my mind, all we guests need to do is add a couple bouquets of flowers and tropical fruit! The eco bloques and shading vegetation give relief from the sun and heat, while allowing plenty of sunlight into the central gathering space and on private terraces. The layout & design blocks unwanted sound indoors, while enhancing sound in open public and private spaces where one can hear howlers (if one knows what to listen for) and tropical birds.

Our party especially loved gathering to visit in the salt water pool in the evening. The seating and lighting makes for a great ambiance. We also enjoyed having private spaces outside our rooms and the gathering space around the BBQ and Tiki Bar. We loved being in town and within walking distance of everything while being at the end of a private road, backed by a bit of forest.

We are not party animals, but if you go with a group, be aware you may be asked to be quiet and respect the neighbors / the establishment next door. That's reasonable. Still, "respect" and even "quiet behavior" seem subjective concepts. It is very difficult to be tip-toe-quiet at 9 pm when one is on vacation w/ a group of beloveds, having the time of your life! That said, we did our best, and still had a blast, and from what we know, there were no complaints.

Big thanks and best wishes to Monika and Quinn. We have incredible memories of our times at The Logan and at Villa Blanca.

Date of stay: April 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justcuz
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Made the Vacation a "vacation"”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Really don't know what else to say other than; what are you waiting for? Sure, it's a little more expensive than some of the others, but honestly it's the last thing I was thinking about when monkeys were jumping by my window, I was enjoying the pool, and could confidently walk around knowing myself, my luggage, and everything else was safe. Clean, pleasant, and Monika and Quinn made the stay extremely comfortable. Don't think about it, just stay here.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern, Clean, Quiet
Liked least: Little further from the beach than most...but that's splitting hairs.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveSamar...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Way to Enjoy Costa Rica's Beach Paradise!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I just spent a week at The Logan in Playa Samara. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The Logan is very comfortable, quiet, well-situated on the periphery of the village. Its secluded and only a few short blocks to one of the nicest beaches I have ever seen! The owners, Monika and Quinn were very helpful to my wife and I with excellent suggestions of where to eat, what to visit, and offers to assist us while on our Costa Rican vacation. Quinn was there to greet us and show us how everthing worked. They are quick with returning the security deposit and run an efficient rental. It was our first trip to Costa Rica and they added to the very positive impression that we left with. We will be back to the Logan and Playa Samara!

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The facilities, a saltwater pool and location
Liked least: Wi-Fi was not always functioning correctly
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Outstanding vacation rental, providing a wonderful place to chill out and enjoy this region of the Nicoya Peninsula.

Location is darn near ideal - at the end of a side street = quiet, but about 200m away from the town of Playa Samara = easy access to supermercados, restaurants, shop and beach.

Layout and condition of facility were great - 4 rooms available, each with generous kitchen, dining area, bathroom and bedroom. Each has sitting area with table (great for eating outdoors), along with shared pool / grill / chairs (see picture).

Outstanding owners Monika and Quinn handled all aspects smoothly and gave great suggestions for local area. Town itself had plenty of things to do, places to eat, etc. w/o feeling overcrowded at all.

One tip: Be certain to visit Playa Carrillo by car or bike, located ca. 5km away, for an absolutely fantastic beach experience - nicely quiet when we visited.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great layout, pool, proximity to town
Liked least: Vacation eventually ended
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor M
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In a word? Heaven”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My friend and I loved this property. Monika and Quinn weren't in town when we arrived, however they made sure we were taken care of upon arrival. The Logan fits hand and hand with Samara. This place was made for relaxing in the sun. There are also a few amazing restos in town and also a great beach within walking distance of Samara (7km hike to make up for all the lazy days). Would gladly stay there again if I ever went back to Samara. I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: saltwater pool
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P
Prince Albert, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Samara”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we are happy we started in Samara. It is a nice, laid back beach town and The Logan was a wonderful place to stay for our ten day visit. Our rental was one bedroom with very comfortable beds, an adequate kitchen, shower with hot water, big outside sitting area on our second floor and a wonderful pool and yard. It is located on the edge of town with a short walk to the beach and close to many places to eat or buy groceries. Our hosts, Monika and Quinn, made sure our booking and stay were very pleasant and were quick to reply to any questions we had.

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: We really enjoyed spending the hottest time of the day around the salt water pool enjoying the shade
Liked least: No real complaints except for some ants but that is to be expected. We kept all of our food in the fridge and that solved any problems of ants in the food
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Modern meets Mellow”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

My girlfriend and I had our first visit to Costa Rica this past Christmas and New Year. The trip was fantastic and a large chuck of that was thanks to Monica and Quinn at the Logan in Samara. This sleepy and incredibly relaxing beach town is fantastic for decompressing from the stresses and strains of North American chaos. Fantastic food, fantastic beach and a fantastic place to stay. Samara can get really hot so the salt water pool at the Logan is perfect for a quick dip to cool off. I would highly recommend visiting Samara and I would also highly recommend The Logan.

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool was tops!
Liked least: The millipedes
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing