We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nirvana Awaits at MonteLaguna Residence”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MonteLaguna Residence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Nirvana Awaits at MonteLaguna Residence”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently returned from 2 weeks at MonteLaguna Residence in Costa Rica. My husband and I were there with 2 friends. It was absolutely amazing. Georgia and her husband Gianmario are wonderful hosts. The residence is well maintained, clean and secure. The pool was a dream - I spent many hours lounging there with a good book watching the many birds fly by. The property backs onto a green, non developed area that seems to be a bird sanctuary. The residence is just across the road from Samara beach, and a short walk to the beautiful Carillo beach. It is just like those palm tree lined sandy beaches in pictures. The people of Samara are very friendly and there are any number of adventures to satisfy the thrill seekers or the bird/turtle watchers. The food is great - you will not go hungry. We are already trying to figure out our next trip and hope it will be longer!

Room Tip: I liked the room we had overlooking the pool. The area is quiet so there was no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were fortunate to rent a fabulous 3 bedroom condo for 2 weeks in Jan 2012.
The short walk to 2 stunning beaches: Carrillo and Samara make this an ideal location.
The building is beautifully maintained. The condo is well appointed and spacious. The pool is heavenly. I believe this is without a doubt the best place to stay in Samara. I can't wait to go back...Giorgia and Gianmario the owners are excellent hosts and most helpful.
Montelaguna in Samara is a gem and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

For the second year, we rented at Montelaguna and didn't want to leave. The apartment was clean, well equipped and we spent hours on the balcony relaxing and watching the birds. We enjoyed the pool and loved being able to walk to both Carillo, our favorite beach in Costa Rica, and Samara beaches. The best part is GIorgia and her family. She is incredibly generous with her knowledge of the area and available for any of our needs and questions. With her recommendations, we went horseback riding, had wonderful massages, sea kayaked out to the little island to snorkel and got to see the baby turtles released on the beach. We feel completely welcome and at home here and we will be back, hopefully every year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family just returned from Costa Rica. While in Samara we stayed at the Montelaguna. It is a lovely condo complex a few hundred yards from both Carillo and Samara beaches. The two bedroom condo was spotless and well maintained. The setting is lovely, and the pool very nice and well maintained. Georgia was always available, and very helpful. The Montelaguna is a short ($6) cab ride from town, but we used the restaurant at The Hideaway across the street when we wanted an easy meal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandAmy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Montelaguna Residence had a lot to offer. Its location is great, with Samara and Carrillo near by. We felt very safe and had a thoroughly relaxing experience.The accommodation itself was superb. Everything was provided. The pool offers a wonderful chance for relaxing and having fun. The general feeling is that of being in a family owned luxury hotel, without the exuberant expense. With the owners living on site, we had an extra sense of comfort and security. They were very friendly and helpful and made sure we had a truly good time. This is definitely the place for anyone wishing to have an enjoyable time in this area of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyramidex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montelaguna, Owner at MonteLaguna Residence, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a lovely time. We hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My family of four -- including a four and two year old -- had the pleasure of staying in the four bedroom Casa (up the road from the condos) for three months in the summer of 2012. After three months, you get to know the property inside and out and it simply becomes home. I could go on and on about the stay and the house but I'll stay focused on the high notes that folks are probably most curious about:

--This is a fantastic place for kids. The house is kid-friendly. Giorgia and her family are generous with stocking the house with kids books and toys. The outdoor area provides ample room to run around. And, perhaps most helpfully, Giorgia and her husband Gianmario have three kids. This means that they understands what you need and the kids, themselves, are great playmates.

--The pool is safe (all normal caveats about parental supervision notwithstanding). We bought an expensive pool monitoring system and never used it. Our kids barely knew how to swim when we arrived. They both made huge improvements over the summer.

--The house is very nice. It's not luxurious but it's quite comfortable and has everything you need. Yes, it does get extremely hot but the air conditioning in the bedrooms does the trick for sleeping comfortably. For those used to large American kitchens with dishwashers (and certainly garbage disposals), the kitchen is probably the biggest adjustment. But, we got used to it quickly. And, when it's hot, you don't want to be spending hours cooking, regardless.

--You don't need a car but it will make your life easier. We went the first two weeks without a car and managed fine on bikes, the bus (which is very nice) and taxis. Yet, having a car to go grab take-out or to buy milk is so much easier. We rented Giorgia's Geo Tracker for the summer at a reasonable price.

--Connectivity is good if you want it. We didn't spend a lot of time online or in front of the TV but when we needed to, it was important. While we were there, we "helped" improve the Wifi by making some gentle suggestions. You're welcome ;). The Satellite TV primarily served its purpose in providing periodic entertainment to our kids in English and Spanish while we cooked or cleaned.

--Samara is a unique place. So much of Costa Rica is getting built up and Americanized. Samara is a great mix between having modern conveniences and remaining Costa Rican. If you go to CR for a week, you may prefer a more resorty place. If you want a deeper CR experience, Samara is great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17ReasonsWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montelaguna, Owner at MonteLaguna Residence, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a review. I think you have provided really important information for others to make a more informed decision. I am glad you enjoyed yourself, and the kids and i look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed one month (Jan. 15 to Feb. 15, 2012) at Montelaguna Residence and we totally enjoyed it. The residence is quiet, relaxing and away from the hustle and bustle of Samara Village.

We stayed in condo #23. Nice two bedroom condo with a balcony overlooking the lagoon and the swimming pool. Giorgia and Mario where great hosts and made sure we had a great stay. Whatever we needed, they accommodated us. The pool was always sparkling clean and was a great place to meet the other tenants.

We appreciated our early morning walks on Carillo and Samara beaches. When we needed supplies, Samara Village is a 25 minute walk on the beach, so a car rental was not necessary (not unless you want to visit other areas of Costa Rica). With supplies in hand, we would taxi back for the mere sum of 3,000 colones ($6US) and you do not need to tip taxis (so we were told). At low tide, Samara and Carillo beach have 300 meters wide of beautiful sand.
We enjoyed going for lunch at the many beach front restaurants with the ice cold ceverzas and beautiful scenery.

Close to Montelaguna Residence is a zip-line outfit called Wingnuts Canopy tours. They picked us up at the residence and few minutes later we were at their office. Once fitted with our harnesses, we were off to the site. The tour lasted three hours with 10 zip-lines, a snack and we had great guides by the name of Manu and Freddy. We had a wonderful time and would do it again.

There are many activities available: dolphin watching, snorkelling, surfing, sea kayaking and also fishing boats and sea-doo rentals.
For more info, http://samarabeach.com/whattodo.htm you can even tour the area by air in a small helicopter.

All in all, impressive beaches, good restaurants, wonderful people, great hosts, excellent location and we will be returning at Montelaguna Residence.

Thanks again Giorgia and Mario.
Diane and Bear
Aylmer, Quebec

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bear Et Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.0 mi away
Montelaguna Boutique Hotel
Montelaguna Boutique Hotel
#10 of 32 in Playa Samara
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
869 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
514 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MonteLaguna Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonteLaguna Residence

Property: MonteLaguna Residence
Address: Calle por Carrillo, defrente Punto Indio, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing