We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really nice hostel to enjoy the beach and meet people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Mariposas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Mariposas
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“really nice hostel to enjoy the beach and meet people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

It is a very good hotel with a lot of other travellers to meet. The dorm is clean and confortable with a lot of hammocks. It is only five minutes walk from the beach. The laundry service is good and cheap. The staff can be a bit disorganized.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarineHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    30
    11
    11
    10
See reviews for
4
25
67
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there only for one night, but its a very nice and good place to stay longer!
The staff (Eefje and Amanda) helped us friendly and gave us good advise!
The hostel has warm water and separate rooms, its clean and the atmosphere is relaxed and easy going!
There are enough hammocks to chill in and the beach is just around the corner!
What you see is what you get, and thats a fair price for a honest hostel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zusterannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I Stayed at las mariposas for a few nights. The staff were really helpful, kitchen and bathrooms were always clean. The atmosphere was great. Plenty to do and only a minute walk from the beach. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcatt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We'd have been better off sleeping outside than staying at Mariposa's for the night. Just a few of the terrible things from our stay here:

- The bed flattened as we slept on it, so it was like sleeping on the floor midway through the night.
- They decided to start running a lawn mower at 8 in the morning on a Sunday.
- Our room had ants crawling everywhere.
- No sink in the bathroom or hot water.

Many of these things are to be expected in most places in Costa Rica, but for the price we paid per night we've had infinitely better experiences.

Room Tip: Do not take the room on the ground level around from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank featherless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and had the private room above the main kitchen area. It was very noisy, not that we normally mind that sort of thing but it was when the hammock area quietened down and we heard the animals (suspected rats/mice) in the ceiling above our head that it really started to bother us! Added to that the bed was uncomfortable and at 35usd a night we felt it didn't come close to the standard we have seen elsewhere in central America for less money!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S0ph13B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013


I recently stayed at this hostel and have to say it was one of the worst hostel experiences I have ever had. 
The place has a negative soulless vibe. 
The dorm is 15 dollars a night with only one central fan. Thus it is really hot with loads of Mosquitos. The beds are uncomfortable, old, and dirty. 
We looked around after our first night and found a place (matilori, the number rated hostel in Samara). It was 5 dollars cheaper a night for a private room with a much more comfortable bed, a personal fan, and a cleaner kitchen. We came back to check out at three the dorm had 4 open beds. The guy told us we couldn't check out unless we paid for that night. I can see how that is ok if they were full and turning people away, but with open beds that doesn't make sense. Especially when they did fill up later that night. He told me if i left without paying for that night he would call the cops.   Malo onda.  
I have never experienced a hostel that is so hostile negative and not easy going. I would never spend another night at this place and wouldn't recommend it for my worst enemy. Go to matilori or even camp on the beach. You would be much better off. 

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alejohecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollock Pines, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very nice relaxing atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff. It is a tropical version of good international hostel with English speaking community which is not typical for little city of Samara. Tourists definitely feel like at home there hanging out reading in shady area during hot hours, or even napping there in hammocks. Quiet location, very close to the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.9 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Matilori
Hostel Matilori
#8 of 24 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Las Olas Beach Club
Las Olas Beach Club
#15 of 24 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
#11 of 33 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Samara
Hostel Samara
#6 of 24 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Mariposas

Property: Las Mariposas
Address: 100 m. norte de Intercultura | 100 m. norte de Intercultura, Playa Samara 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a charming property in the beautiful beach town of Samara, Costa Rica. If you are looking for an inexpensive place with lots of extra services.... this is the place to be! You have free Wifi access, a communal kitchen, bike rental and hot shower!The property can arrange lots of nice activities for a fair price and offers a delicious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Las Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing