We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing but decent location”
Review of Las Mariposas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Mariposas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I loved Samara but this hostel wasn't great. The price was fine and location was awesome (close to beach and Main Street) but it was weird. Everyone there smoked all the time in the common area (so if you're a smoker who loves hammocks you might like it). Everyone who worked there was on a working vacation so you couldn't tell who staff were and who wasn't. The wifi was down most of the time we were there (which was 2days/1 night to be fair). There's a gate to the property that gets locked at night but the dorm upstairs had no keys (and they didn't give any out). There is a one person bathroom with 1 stall shower in an 8 person dorm. There's a grocery store nearby if you want to use their kitchen. Mostly this place is ideal if you want to be close to the beach while you party, do a bunch of drugs and chain smoke in Samara.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah_NorthVanBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 160 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Cons: The hostel was very strange. No keys were given out and it was unclear who worked at the hostel and who was just staying there for a long time (either way they were not very welcoming). Everyone there smoked in the common areas all the time and talked about all of their drug use (loudly) making it hard to relax in the hammocks. The showers were very dirty. Expensive for level of service. No one seems to know where the activities they have listed in the kitchen area are actually located.

Pros: Convenient location. You can do a work/stay situation I think. The cat is cute. Despite having no doors they do have small lock boxes. If you want a party hostel this is probably the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin_VancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The atmosphere at this place kicks [--]! I spent 5 nights here over new years with my brother and sister, and had an amazing time. Three of the five nights there was a communal dinner prepared by guests, two times by a Brazilian ex-chef who happened to be there. Every day they listed activities in the common area, and the dinners were listed here so they were easy to find out about. All the people that worked there were really nice, and many of them were volunteers that would go out with us in the evening. Maybe this was just luck, but there was a great group of friendly people staying there, so the common area was always popping, and there were always people ready to go on an adventure. If I'm every back in the Nicoya Peninsula I'll be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

So maybe I'm getting old....but we couldn't sleep. Samara is changing and more american kids are coming. Gross. Kid in my room puking all night. Whatever. As long as they don't start volunteering I'm ok. I thought we gave them Negril. Anyway, cheap and nice staff and great location. If you are mellower then me. Go for it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brantonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Don't come here if you're looking to have a lame time where you don't meet anybody and sleep in.

Mariposas is a 30 second walk from the beach and comes with hammocks and a nice place to hang out. I spent 5 nights here around Christmas and met a lot of awesome people.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grsteven89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Las Mariposas. We camped...which btw it's $8 PER PERSON, not $8 per tent as we were told. Excellent location: short walk to the beach, short walk to restaurants, etc. The hostel is run mainly by volunteers from all over. Some are very friendly and helpful, and some are not. Nice big kitchen with oils and seasonings provided. No free coffee as I saw previously posted. They are having a mouse problem so the kitchen stinks terribly and ants get into EVERYTHING! Do not buy things to keep in the kitchen unless they go in the fridge. They offer bikes for $3/day and laundry $4/load. Plenty of places to hang your wet clothes. Not enough bathrooms for everyone. They do not have private rooms with a private bathroom and we had over 20 people here and for 2 bathrooms, that's not enough! The shower is outside and kind of gross. I didn't use the dorm shower. I also cannot comment on the rooms, but I know that everyday that we were here they were switching people around and I would have been totally annoyed by that. One staff member was even moving peoples things to different room without their knowledge. I would have flipped out if that were me...I don't want people touching my things. No lockers, so you need to trust people that you're staying with. Definitely a party hostel...a lot of smoking, drinking and weed. If you're looking for a quiet place; this is not the place to stay! Every night someone cooked a meal that you could pay for. It was really awesome to have "family" dinners and something that we really enjoyed that made this place unique. Great hang out area with hammocks to take naps in. A lot of your stay will depend on who are the current staff and who you're staying with. Massages and yoga on the beach are available for a decent price. Oh and they have 2 dogs. I am a huge animal person, but these dogs were annoying. They were rolling all over our two man tent and collapsed it once. Not the worst place that we've ever stayed, but not the best either.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bebsoc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We felt very welcome during our stay in hostel Las Mariposas. The owner, Leonie, knows how to create a relaxed, homely atmosphere for everybody. The Monday night dinners are great fun, sitting at a long table, eating nice food, drinking sangria, you get to know other travellers. Local musicians drop by to entertain you with really good music. The kitchen area is good, cooking oil, herbs and free coffee are provided. The place is clean and has friendly volunteers to help you out. With Leonie's pick up truck they bring you to desolated beaches, surf spots and the great turtle arrival. Definitely a go!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisettesurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.9 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#16 of 16 in Playa Samara
94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Samara
Hostel Samara
#2 of 22 in Playa Samara
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Olas Beach Club
Las Olas Beach Club
#17 of 22 in Playa Samara
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Locanda Samara
Locanda Samara
#15 of 32 in Playa Samara
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Mariposas

Address: 100 m. norte de Intercultura | 100 m. norte de Intercultura, Playa Samara 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range: $18 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a charming property in the beautiful beach town of Samara, Costa Rica. If you are looking for an inexpensive place with lots of extra services.... this is the place to be! You have free Wifi access, a communal kitchen, bike rental and hot shower!The property can arrange lots of nice activities for a fair price and offers a delicious breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing