We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most fun hostel I've ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Mariposas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Mariposas
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most fun hostel I've ever stayed at”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The atmosphere at this place kicks [--]! I spent 5 nights here over new years with my brother and sister, and had an amazing time. Three of the five nights there was a communal dinner prepared by guests, two times by a Brazilian ex-chef who happened to be there. Every day they listed activities in the common area, and the dinners were listed here so they were easy to find out about. All the people that worked there were really nice, and many of them were volunteers that would go out with us in the evening. Maybe this was just luck, but there was a great group of friendly people staying there, so the common area was always popping, and there were always people ready to go on an adventure. If I'm every back in the Nicoya Peninsula I'll be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    29
    11
    11
    10
See reviews for
4
25
67
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

So maybe I'm getting old....but we couldn't sleep. Samara is changing and more american kids are coming. Gross. Kid in my room puking all night. Whatever. As long as they don't start volunteering I'm ok. I thought we gave them Negril. Anyway, cheap and nice staff and great location. If you are mellower then me. Go for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brantonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Don't come here if you're looking to have a lame time where you don't meet anybody and sleep in.

Mariposas is a 30 second walk from the beach and comes with hammocks and a nice place to hang out. I spent 5 nights here around Christmas and met a lot of awesome people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grsteven89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Las Mariposas. We camped...which btw it's $8 PER PERSON, not $8 per tent as we were told. Excellent location: short walk to the beach, short walk to restaurants, etc. The hostel is run mainly by volunteers from all over. Some are very friendly and helpful, and some are not. Nice big kitchen with oils and seasonings provided. No free coffee as I saw previously posted. They are having a mouse problem so the kitchen stinks terribly and ants get into EVERYTHING! Do not buy things to keep in the kitchen unless they go in the fridge. They offer bikes for $3/day and laundry $4/load. Plenty of places to hang your wet clothes. Not enough bathrooms for everyone. They do not have private rooms with a private bathroom and we had over 20 people here and for 2 bathrooms, that's not enough! The shower is outside and kind of gross. I didn't use the dorm shower. I also cannot comment on the rooms, but I know that everyday that we were here they were switching people around and I would have been totally annoyed by that. One staff member was even moving peoples things to different room without their knowledge. I would have flipped out if that were me...I don't want people touching my things. No lockers, so you need to trust people that you're staying with. Definitely a party hostel...a lot of smoking, drinking and weed. If you're looking for a quiet place; this is not the place to stay! Every night someone cooked a meal that you could pay for. It was really awesome to have "family" dinners and something that we really enjoyed that made this place unique. Great hang out area with hammocks to take naps in. A lot of your stay will depend on who are the current staff and who you're staying with. Massages and yoga on the beach are available for a decent price. Oh and they have 2 dogs. I am a huge animal person, but these dogs were annoying. They were rolling all over our two man tent and collapsed it once. Not the worst place that we've ever stayed, but not the best either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebsoc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Catalina, Panama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We felt very welcome during our stay in hostel Las Mariposas. The owner, Leonie, knows how to create a relaxed, homely atmosphere for everybody. The Monday night dinners are great fun, sitting at a long table, eating nice food, drinking sangria, you get to know other travellers. Local musicians drop by to entertain you with really good music. The kitchen area is good, cooking oil, herbs and free coffee are provided. The place is clean and has friendly volunteers to help you out. With Leonie's pick up truck they bring you to desolated beaches, surf spots and the great turtle arrival. Definitely a go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisettesurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olten
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Las mariposas was well recommended by other travellers. going there with high expectations, I was a bit disappointed. The dorm hardly allows any room for your luggage, also there are no lockers. Dorm room was not clean at all - lots of dust, spiderwebse etc. The bathroom is tiny and smelled badly.
The hostel has a great kitchen area to hang out, where you meet people and family style dinners are offered. But again there is a extremely dirty tablecloth and the hammocks smell bad as well. You can get a basket to keep your food in the shelf, but obviousely rats were gnawing on my food over night.
Las mariposas is a nice place and with little efforts it could be even much better..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoAmy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

So, start with the good things.... Nice big kitchen, close to the beach, clean bathrooms, very nice staff that will help you with info, you can walk to everything, and cheep. But....

If you stay here don't expect much. This is Not a B&B B, it is a hostel. I think the shared rooms are probably the way to go because they are back behind the kitchen and off the road. You have to order brackfast and pay for it before 6 pm the day before. Do NOT get a private room. Thats what we did...They are right above the common area/kitchen were everyone party's all night. And the floors and walls are paper thin. A couple in the next room over had the whole shack shacking for about an hour. I got maybe 4 hours of sleep a night. The road that the place is on seems to be a local dirt bike/atv drag strip that really gets going around midnight. Vroom vroom! And the night guard was very friendly, he had loud chats with every local that walked by all night. And we heard it all because he was five feet below are window..... No towels and cobwebs in the room.

If your alone and need a fun place to stay this seems like a good option. Kinda reminded me of a college frat house. If your with your girlfriend looking for a cheaper place to stay that's quiet, you might do better to spend a couple extra bucks and go to another place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicken-wing123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.9 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Matilori
Hostel Matilori
#8 of 24 in Playa Samara
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Las Olas Beach Club
Las Olas Beach Club
#15 of 24 in Playa Samara
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
#11 of 33 in Playa Samara
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Samara
Hostel Samara
#6 of 24 in Playa Samara
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Mariposas

Property: Las Mariposas
Address: 100 m. norte de Intercultura | 100 m. norte de Intercultura, Playa Samara 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a charming property in the beautiful beach town of Samara, Costa Rica. If you are looking for an inexpensive place with lots of extra services.... this is the place to be! You have free Wifi access, a communal kitchen, bike rental and hot shower!The property can arrange lots of nice activities for a fair price and offers a delicious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Las Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing