We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent stay”
Review of Las Mariposas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Mariposas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The place is nice, couple hamocks to relax, great commun area, and a kitchen for cooking, friendly staff, for that It's worth the money. But, in our opinions it could be nicer. First, the room upstairs (up the kitchen) was not so clean, no linen until we ask two time for getting it and then a member of the staff just throw them on the bed, without making it!! The room also had a lot of dust in the shelf, and we had to putt our mosquito net, even if they have screen on window's. It's old but with some basic repair, and better attention to the guest, it could be a better place. In the commun area, I can stop thinking about the sticky pic-nik table with a full ashtray!. We also saw a girl smooking in the kitchen in front of the manager, disgusting! Well, in average, an OK stay, maybe they were short of staff that time...? Hope my review's gonna be constructive because they have a very nice spot!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guyl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Las Mariposas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

I ended up staying at Las Mariposas for 5 weeks and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hostel centrally located in the small, lazy beach town of Samara which exemplifies the pura vida lifestyle. The hostel itself is only 100 meters from the beach and the beach can even be seen from the rancho through the lush landscaping of the property. This place is perfect for travelers on a budget because it is super close to a grocery store and guests have full access to a great kitchen, which is super great because eating out can add up. Leonie, the owner, is a super rad lady who is very helpful and will bend over backwards to make sure that you're comfortable and enjoying yourself. So if you're looking for a peaceful time in paradise, Las Mariposas is your place.

Room Tip: The dorm is a great value, but if you value some privacy grab a private room for a couple extra buck...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Las Mariposas is the best hostel i've been to (and i've been travelling for almost 5 months already). within the first 10 minutes of your arrival, you'll just feel at home! it's the kind of hostel where everyone makes you feel welcomed, where you plan big meals all together ( in the last week we had mexican night, lasagna night and BBQ on the beach). the kitchen is GREAT! loads of plates and cutlery, pots and pans, and a stove that works!! also, Leonie (the owner) provide spices that you can use and trust me that's the first time i've seen that! the hostel is very clean and yoou can use the blue bike (for free) to do your grocery shoppng or simply explore the surrounding areas. there are also snorkelling geer for you to take with you to go on to the beach (which is 100 meters away from the hostel). it's not a hostel, its your house, for however long you want to stay!! and be prepared, it is HARD to leave this little paradise!! enjoy your stay! :D
ps: the mattress are SO COMFY!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloemauroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

really nice place to stay... we just wanted to stay for 3 nights, ended up staying for 9 days..... everyone tends to stay longer there.... just a amazing place... free wifi, cofe, friendly people, and just everything you need... the place is runned by leonie and timo who really help you out with everything... all is just brand new... place just open a month ago and u really have some nice and clean beds mad of wood and new matresses... amazing place, friendly people,... believe me you stay longer there as you want!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I also stayed in a room above the kitchen (like someone else who reviewed this hostel) and did not think it was that bad. Yes you can hear people in the common area because there are screens on the window. But you're staying at a hostel to meet people anyway, right? The owners were really cool and helpful. They cooked us a delicious Christmas eve dinner because most of the restaurants were really busy and had a selective menu. It is a really close walk to the beach, the main street and the super market.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

My friend and I were travelling to Samara for 2 nights and ended up here based on the recommendation of a local chef. It is off the main street, so we figured it would be a quiet place for weary travellers. The Facebook page touted "renovated", so we gave it a go. We took a private room with a double and single bed. There was free wifi (if you could get a signal) and hammocks for reading, which was nice. The receptionist was nice enough and spoke English. Unfortunately, our room was over the kitchen, another guest was playing loud, pounding techno music that shook the whole building....waaaay into the night. No windows, just screens, traffic going by at all hours and roosters (yep, they are up ALL night!). Cheap accom if all you are looking for is a bed. If you'd like some peace and quite, stay elsewhere. Needless to say, we didn't stay the second night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuraVidaLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Really enjoyed staying here. Everything was very clean and relaxed. Close to the beach, close to the supermarket, but a little further off from the main street. Really nice place and very nice owner.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
Thank frank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.9 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#16 of 16 in Playa Samara
94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Olas Beach Club
Las Olas Beach Club
#17 of 22 in Playa Samara
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Samara
Hostel Samara
#2 of 22 in Playa Samara
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Mariposas

Address: 100 m. norte de Intercultura | 100 m. norte de Intercultura, Playa Samara 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range: $18 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a charming property in the beautiful beach town of Samara, Costa Rica. If you are looking for an inexpensive place with lots of extra services.... this is the place to be! You have free Wifi access, a communal kitchen, bike rental and hot shower!The property can arrange lots of nice activities for a fair price and offers a delicious breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing