We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for price”
Review of Las Mariposas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Las Mariposas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

small hostel, (3 or 4 rooms), with good location about 100meters to beach. Great hostess, Leoni, she active in day to day operations. Community kitchen available.

Cons:, bed I had upstairs was kinda old, seen better days, thin and dirty, but for $16.00 us a night can't complain. Maybee they have upgraded since then as when I stayed it had just opened.

all in all I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekepono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 163 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2011

This hostel is peaceful during the day and becomes a good pre-drink place at night. Beds are comfortables, rooms and bathrooms are clean, staff is great! It will makes you love SAMARA!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl_giroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I stayed for several nights and I wish I had time to stay longer. Leonie is a very gracious and hard-working hostess. She makes a fantastic breakfast in the morning and was a huge help with getting acquainted to the area. LP is very comfortable and in a perfect location. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superchris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Staying in Las Mariposas is a terrific place to stay while visiting Samara. It is very affordable, and the rooms and bathrooms are kept very clean. A well prepared and healthy breakfast is included and served family-style for all the guests, providing a good opportunity for friendly conversation. Also, there is a casual dining area with hammocks, and an open kitchen with refrigerator/freezer. Snorkeling gear and bikes are available for rent. And as other reviews have mentioned, the owner and operator of the business lives onsite, and could not be more friendly or accommodating. Oh, and it is only 300 feet from the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dylan_ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

This place had been recommended to me and was great as a base close to the beach. The owner provides breakfast and the kitchen can be used by guests to make lunch/dinner. This place is her home, which she opens up to her guests. It was very comfortable to stay there a few days.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloyevaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

It wasn't terribly easy to find for me as it was not in my travel guide and the website did not come up immediately in a google search (both of these may have changed by now). The place was recommended to me by two separate travelers and I liked it so much I stayed for over a month. Close to the beach, excellent service, and you get a feel for Sámara quickly. Most guests I saw their ended up staying longer than they had anticipated.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radtadtad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

The best place ever. Don't want to leave. I'm going home to collect my own bed so I can move in here. Thanks to Leonie (the owner) for her friendly attentions.
I have found paradise!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nico996sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.9 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Matilori
Hostel Matilori
#8 of 22 in Playa Samara
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Samara
Hostel Samara
#2 of 22 in Playa Samara
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Hostel
El Dorado Hostel
#3 of 22 in Playa Samara
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Locanda Samara
Locanda Samara
#17 of 32 in Playa Samara
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt
Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt
#15 of 22 in Playa Samara
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Mariposas

Address: 100 m. norte de Intercultura | 100 m. norte de Intercultura, Playa Samara 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range: $16 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Las Mariposas 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a charming property in the beautiful beach town of Samara, Costa Rica. If you are looking for an inexpensive place with lots of extra services.... this is the place to be! You have free Wifi access, a communal kitchen, bike rental and hot shower!The property can arrange lots of nice activities for a fair price and offers a delicious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Las Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing