We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fishing experience!”

Kingfisher Sportfishing
Ranked #16 of 36 things to do in Playa Samara
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The KINGFISHER is 31 foot Palm Beach, with full electronics, tower and outriggers, offering ample shade and room for up to 5 anglers, it is set up for the serious fishermen as well as the novice angler. We have been sending home satisfied anglers year after year to the point that the majority of our business is now repeat customers, and word of mouth. We strive to take fishing to a more personal level. We encourage angler participation, and while at first (especially to the novice) it may seem difficult, given a good day it is hard not to catch the fever.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fishing experience!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband, 2 kids and I went on a full day deep sea fishing trip! The best part was watching the dolphins swimming and playing all around us, and for my husband was catching those huge Dorado's!
The captain and crew were friendly, nice and polite. Other than our sea sickness we had an amazing time and are planning to go again on our next trip to Costa Rica!!
We highly recommend this trip if deep sea fishing is what interests you!!!
Great experience and well worth it!!!
Definitely a must do!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank BBustos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    2
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Charter Operation”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have been fishing with Rick on the Kingfisher every year for over 10 years. Rick is one of the most experienced captains in the area and runs a very professional charter operation. I have had many great days on the Kingfisher catching marlin, sails, dorado, wahoo & tuna. Rick has always gone beyond the call to make sure our time on the water was the best experience no matter what the conditions. His crew is very professional whether you are a novice or experienced angler. The equipment on the boat was always in top condition.The boat was always stocked with cold beer and good food, and his crew makes an excellent sashimi and ceviche on the boat with your fresh catch. I highly recommend the Kingfisher to anyone looking for a great fishing experience in NW Costa Rica.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice boat”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The fishing was real slow the 2 days we fished with Capt Rick. But it was a good experience. He tried hard but thats why they call it fishing. It was nice to have an english speaking captain.Very friendly crew and the boat was well maintained.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank robm47855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Day on the Water”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a group of 4 guys celebrating one of our 40th birthdays. Not one of us are what you would call a "fisherman". In fact, one of our number carries a genetic curse that puts the hammer on any fishing trip that he goes on.

However, we did actually catch some fish! We reeled in some beautiful Mahi-Mahi, which we kept (and ate all week), and hooked one Sailfish which was pretty spectacular.

Beyond the fishing though, it was spectacular just getting out on the water with Rick and his crew. We had dolphins around the boat, so close we could touch them. We had flying fish zipping out of the water left and right. We rescued a sea turtle that we found caught up in fishing gear... It was quite the adventure all around, and a perfect component of our Costa Rica vacation.

We had considered only going out for a half day, but we're glad that we did the full day trip. Having that extra time acts as a good insurance policy should the fish be further offshore.

Highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank btrain16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always great trips with Rick”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A group of us have been visiting Rick and Jackie for over 10 years to fish and surf. We have always had great trips with Rick and they have always been gracious hosts to us. We book for three days to improve the odds. You usually have one stellar day (like 5 marlin shots, 12 sails, a few dorado, an average day and a slow day). Although we did a late start one day and caught 28 sails, back by 2pm. Over the years we have caught marlin, wahoo, dorado, yellowfin tuna and plenty of sails with Rick. Enjoy the view, the beer and your friends. The boat is clean and up to date. Lots of good shade down below. The equipment is up to date and in good working order. The baits are rigged and ready to go. Rick knows where the fish are and the local captains work together to share information about the daily bite. Orlando runs the cockpit and wires the fish. He will let you do as much or as little as you like. They will teach you how to hook your own billfish using bait-and-switch right off the transom its a blast, no dragging lures all day. Rick runs the boat like a professional American operation but it is central america, things happen, the beer is not always cold at 8am, go with it and enjoy the experience.

Bo
Miami, FL

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 001Bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfisher Sportfishing also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Kingfisher Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing