We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice boat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingfisher Sportfishing

Kingfisher Sportfishing
Ranked #14 of 35 things to do in Playa Samara
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The KINGFISHER is 31 foot Palm Beach, with full electronics, tower and outriggers, offering ample shade and room for up to 5 anglers, it is set up for the serious fishermen as well as the novice angler. We have been sending home satisfied anglers year after year to the point that the majority of our business is now repeat customers, and word of mouth. We strive to take fishing to a more personal level. We encourage angler participation, and while at first (especially to the novice) it may seem difficult, given a good day it is hard not to catch the fever.
Hampton Bays, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice boat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The fishing was real slow the 2 days we fished with Capt Rick. But it was a good experience. He tried hard but thats why they call it fishing. It was nice to have an english speaking captain.Very friendly crew and the boat was well maintained.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank robm47855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    2
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Day on the Water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a group of 4 guys celebrating one of our 40th birthdays. Not one of us are what you would call a "fisherman". In fact, one of our number carries a genetic curse that puts the hammer on any fishing trip that he goes on.

However, we did actually catch some fish! We reeled in some beautiful Mahi-Mahi, which we kept (and ate all week), and hooked one Sailfish which was pretty spectacular.

Beyond the fishing though, it was spectacular just getting out on the water with Rick and his crew. We had dolphins around the boat, so close we could touch them. We had flying fish zipping out of the water left and right. We rescued a sea turtle that we found caught up in fishing gear... It was quite the adventure all around, and a perfect component of our Costa Rica vacation.

We had considered only going out for a half day, but we're glad that we did the full day trip. Having that extra time acts as a good insurance policy should the fish be further offshore.

Highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank btrain16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always great trips with Rick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

A group of us have been visiting Rick and Jackie for over 10 years to fish and surf. We have always had great trips with Rick and they have always been gracious hosts to us. We book for three days to improve the odds. You usually have one stellar day (like 5 marlin shots, 12 sails, a few dorado, an average day and a slow day). Although we did a late start one day and caught 28 sails, back by 2pm. Over the years we have caught marlin, wahoo, dorado, yellowfin tuna and plenty of sails with Rick. Enjoy the view, the beer and your friends. The boat is clean and up to date. Lots of good shade down below. The equipment is up to date and in good working order. The baits are rigged and ready to go. Rick knows where the fish are and the local captains work together to share information about the daily bite. Orlando runs the cockpit and wires the fish. He will let you do as much or as little as you like. They will teach you how to hook your own billfish using bait-and-switch right off the transom its a blast, no dragging lures all day. Rick runs the boat like a professional American operation but it is central america, things happen, the beer is not always cold at 8am, go with it and enjoy the experience.

Bo
Miami, FL

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 001Bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Thanksgiving Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Awesome trip! It was my first time fishing in Costa Rica, and I wasn't disappointed. Capt. Rick and his mates did a great job putting us on fish. Even though we only landed a few dorado, the opportunities were there. We raised a 200+ blue and fought a sail for some time. For someone who regularly fishes the gulf, this was quite the change. As for the boat, my expectations were exceeded. We had five in our group plus Capt Rick and his two mates (Alonzo(?) and Orlando(?)) but the boat yielded more than enough space for us all. I definitely recommend the " Kingfisher", and will use again in the future.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yatesdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I am a World traveller and have Fished around the world and have never felt the need to complain about a service, however I am so unhappy with the owner, Ricks conduct that I have to leave this review to hope other do not get treated like this.
Booked four fishing days for $4,000.00, yes a lot of money, so expected a good service.
On the first day Rick failed to arrive on time as he was surfing!
On the Second day, the engine of the boat was broken so 3 hours wasted, not informed before we went.
Third day, taxi never arrived, more fishing time wasted.
Fourth day, ok, but no fish as the other days, this I did not mind one Tuna, goes with deep sea fishing, a chance you take.
We only we able to fish the three days, which also had time missing.
At the end of this day, we tried to negotiate with Rick due to the Fishing time missed. We were calm and orderly, he became verbally abusive, and my friends daughter became very distraught at his manner. Very unprofessional and gave us $100 off after ranting and raving and swearing. Not thel Costa Rican way, so don’t let this put you off this Country its lovely. We payed in cash and could not get a proper receipt.
Actually now we don’t even know if we had valid insurance on the boat. I am taking my complaint further.
I really hope no one else falls for this treatment.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Leo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfisher Sportfishing also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Kingfisher Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing