We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true paradise”
Review of Samara Palm Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samara Palm Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true paradise”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

After having travelled 3 weeks through Costa Rica & Panama we decided to spend our last week in Samara at the Palm Lodge! It was number 1 at Trip Advisor and we read some good reviews so we had some expectations..!
We were not disappointed by our choice as it was even better than we would ever have imagined!
The two owners (Lothar & Brigitte) are so nice, helpfull and make you feel at home!
The rooms are great and the pool is surrounded by beautiful trees and flowers. Moreover the prices are very reasonable.
We had a fantastic week at this small paradise and strongly recommend Samara Palm Lodge!

Pierre & Amy
Holland

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierrefromholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
204
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monteverde, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Defiantly the best place we stayed in Costa Rica. Comfortable, clean, beautiful and affordable! The owners were very helpful, kind and nice. Only tip would be to allow online bookings as we almost skipped over this little gem although they do get back to you about reservations quite quickly over email. - We would go back in a heart beat!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you visit Samora, I HIGHLY recommend staying at the Palm Lodge. It is owned and operated by a wonderful young couple named Brigette & Lothar who genuinely care about giving you and outstanding experience. The rooms are impeccable and you'll enjoy the family of Howler monkeys that live in the trees next to the lodge. It's only 2 minutes from the Main Street and 4 minutes from the beach. It's quiet, air conditioned (or giant fan) and absolutely private and safe. The pool on site is surrounded by lush greenery and tasteful accents. You will LOVE the Palm Lodge and the warmth and service provided by the owners. 5 Star lodgings at the most affordable rates!

Room Tip: Affordable rates and only $5 dollar cost difference for a room with AC! Also, the owners will assis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

After a round trip through Costa Rica, the Palm Lodge turned out to be the perfect place to relax. Lothar and Bri are exellent hosts! Not only did they make our stay as comfortable as possible, but they also assisted us when help was needed with the Costerican Police.
The small pool at the lodge was nice to jump in after a day at the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SyR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

An all in all great stay. Nice and clean rooms, very kind owners, top service. Not to much and not to "poco" ;-) The little pool is so nice when you come back after a day on the beach.
There you can really come down to get away from it all...

Room Tip: You can choose the AC&TV rooms on the base level or standard rooms without AC&TV in the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank webbi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was the best place we stayed in since the beginning of our Central American trip 2 months ago. Wish I could have stayed longer! It was so beautiful and relaxing that one of the days we just stayed at the lodge! Location is great, owners extremely helpful, rooms new and furnished in a functional and stylish way! An example to all the other B and B's out there! Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JadeJaguar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Beautiful location, beautiful hotel, beautiful people! We stayed here last summer as part of our wedding holiday, on reflection would have happily had our actual wedding here! Rooms lovely, nice garden/pool area, love the honesty bar. Very helpful owners, wonderful breakfast. Stop reading reviews come to samara beach and stay here, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: It's worth paying for ac in room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellbyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
833 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
289 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas Kalimba
Villas Kalimba
#1 of 32 in Playa Samara
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samara Palm Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samara Palm Lodge

Property: Samara Palm Lodge
Address: 250 mts del Banco Nacional oeste | Rio Lagarto, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated around 5-7 minutes from the village /center of Playa Samara. (Walking distance 5-7 minutes) and nearby the Beach (around 5 minutes)The Lodge is under a Swiss- German Managment.We know how important holidays are for you, and we promise you an unforgettable, lovely stay at our Lodge.We are looking forward to welcome you in our little paradise. For any further questions or bookings please contact us directly ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing