We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just sit back and relax in the best place in samara!”
Review of Samara Palm Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samara Palm Lodge
Ranked #2 of 34 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just sit back and relax in the best place in samara!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was the best place we stayed in since the beginning of our Central American trip 2 months ago. Wish I could have stayed longer! It was so beautiful and relaxing that one of the days we just stayed at the lodge! Location is great, owners extremely helpful, rooms new and furnished in a functional and stylish way! An example to all the other B and B's out there! Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JadeJaguar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
203
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wirral uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Beautiful location, beautiful hotel, beautiful people! We stayed here last summer as part of our wedding holiday, on reflection would have happily had our actual wedding here! Rooms lovely, nice garden/pool area, love the honesty bar. Very helpful owners, wonderful breakfast. Stop reading reviews come to samara beach and stay here, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: It's worth paying for ac in room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellbyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in Samara. The owners, Brigitte and Luther are amazingly helpful and tell you all you need to know about Samara. There are only 8 rooms so it's very quiet and often feels like you are in your own villa! The rooms are gorgeous and the gardens are beautifully done. The icing on the cake would be a kitchen for guest use but that's the only plausible flaw for this beautiful guest house. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDGE-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for (what was supposed to be 2 days but what turned into) 2 weeks and it was perfect. We are travelling for 1 year and of all the places we have stayed I don't believe we have been anywhere that the owners have taken as much care and have put as much hard work into as brigette and lotte (the owners) have into this place. They were always so friendly and informative, and made us feel at home. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated and had AC for whenever we needed it. Everyday our room was made up beautifully. The breakfast was great too - cereal, yoghurts, fruit. breads, juice. The location of the place is just a short walk from samara beach (rugged and beautiful) and from the restaurants. I studied spanish at the local spanish school for 2 weeks (which I highly recommend). Overall. we couldn't recommend this place more- beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmFloB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Not much to add to the other reviews. Of four places we stayed in Costa Rica this was our favorite. It was just so easy to relax and enjoy our time here. It was almost like staying with friends. We will come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I just spent 5 nights at the Samara Palm Lodge, and we could not have had a more wonderful stay!

The property is immaculate and you receive very personal and pleasant service. We rarely get to take vacations and the Samara Palm Lodge made our time away absolutely perfect. From the delicious breakfasts to the excellent recommendations for activities and places to eat, and hanging out around the pool chatting with other guests was such a great time.

The Lodge's location is perfect...near enough to walk to town, the beach, and lots of restaurants, but isn't right in the middle of town where things can be quite busy.

I recommend the Samara Palm Lodge without hesitation to any and all travelers...you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: there's not a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntie_jen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I just confirm the outstanding ratings by so many other former guests, especially for the owners' attention towards clients and the tasty breakfast.
Additionally, we prefer Samara beach to many others along the Nicoya peninsula.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Pequeno Gecko Verde
El Pequeno Gecko Verde
#3 of 34 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
#4 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samara Palm Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samara Palm Lodge

Property: Samara Palm Lodge
Address: 250 mts del Banco Nacional oeste | Rio Lagarto, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated around 5-7 minutes from the village /center of Playa Samara. (Walking distance 5-7 minutes) and nearby the Beach (around 5 minutes)The Lodge is under a Swiss- German Managment.We know how important holidays are for you, and we promise you an unforgettable, lovely stay at our Lodge.We are looking forward to welcome you in our little paradise. For any further questions or bookings please contact us directly ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing