We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“6 stars if I could” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samara Palm Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samara Palm Lodge
Save
You added Samara Palm Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“6 stars if I could”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Beautifully well kept, super clean, great pool and very relaxing. Loved the German breakfast. Lots of good restaurants near by and close to the beach and "downtown". Brigitte and Lothar go out of their way to make your stay as wonderful as possibe , with travel tips and reservations. I would definitely recommend this to my friends and family, and hope I can go back, soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank germancook52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
187
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a fabulous 5 night stay at the Samara Palm Lodge last July. Everything was perfect! About a 7 minute walk to the center of town, so it was much quieter than the center of town. The pool was nice and relaxing. The owners had some great tips for us as well!

Room Tip: Cash only B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. It was clean and tidy with a nice pool and chill out area. Close enough to town and the beach but not on the noisy stretch. Not a huge amount to do in Samara but worth the trip. Lovely hotel with really helpful owners.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROMJOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Awesome value, features, location, staff and top notch cleanliness make this hotel a must if you are staying in Samara. It's located about 1 block off the beach, 5 mins from getting your feet in the sand. We spent 2 nights there and hated to leave this oasis. Lothar & Brigitte are extremely helpful with local tips and info and provide a seamless check-in/check-out process. There are 8 rooms all facing a very lush landscaped pool area and covered breakfast patio. They all have a/c that you barely need, tastefully decorated (even have LCD TV's, not that one need this here) and are super clean! The pool is beautiful, perfect for chilling with an honor bar for beer/wine/pop. Plenty of Howler monkeys & birds to provide sweet animal sounds. They provide secure parking, wifi and a laptop for the less connected. We chose this based on the reviews and can verify its dead on with it's top rating! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thumpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at Samara Palm Lodge for 6 nights and had such a lovely experience. The room was spotlessly clean and welcoming. The pool and lounge area was a little tropical paradise and I loved the poolside breakfast and coffee. Lothar and Brigitte were great hosts, they had great tips on the town and made adventure tours happen easily. The location was easy to find and a short easy walk to the beach. It was a great vacation and Samara Palm Lodge was a huge part of that experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed at Samara Palm Lodge over the Christmas Period. I made my reservation on the strength of the reviews on trip advisor but to be honest I was skeptical given that the room rates are so reasonable. The Samara Palm Lodge certainly lived up to my hopes. The rooms are very modern, clean and comfortable and the communal areas are lovely.

The owners are very friendly and professional and clearly go out of their way to ensure that their guests feel like they are staying in a home away from home.

Samara is a compact place with a laid back atmosphere so everything was in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Samara Palm Lodge was a wonderful place to stay in Samara. From the beginning, the owners were quick in responding to emails and questions. We felt very welcome and comfortable and truly felt like guests. I had mentioned to the owner when making my reservation (several months prior to the trip) we were there on our honeymoon and they remembered! I know they decorate every bed with flowers and shells for every guest, but I think we got extra special decorations! Also, the owner's daughter asked us if we were the couple on their honeymoon. Very sweet to remember and it added a lot to our stay! The pool was fantastic and very clean. The rooms were very nice and the grounds felt private and safe. One thing I was SLIGHTLY disapointed in the very first day(but quickly got over) was the location and the proximity to the beach. It was a little farther away from the beach then we had stayed before and the road you have to walk is busy with traffic. I would say it took us about 10-15 minutes to walk to the beach. But, after staying at Samara Palm Lodge and experiencing the hospitality and friendliness, it really doesn't make a big difference. I won't stay anywhere else during future (hopeful) trips to Samara!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Youwinsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#5 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#4 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas Kalimba
Villas Kalimba
#2 of 32 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samara Palm Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samara Palm Lodge

Property: Samara Palm Lodge
Address: Mts del Banco Nacional Oeste 250 | Rio Lagarto, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated around 5-7 minutes from the village /center of Playa Samara. (Walking distance 5-7 minutes) and nearby the Beach (around 5 minutes)The Lodge is under a Swiss- German Managment.We know how important holidays are for you, and we promise you an unforgettable, lovely stay at our Lodge.We are looking forward to welcome you in our little paradise. For any further questions or bookings please contact us directly ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing