We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Samara stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samara Palm Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samara Palm Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Zion, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Samara stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Magical is absolutely the word that comes to mind from my experience at the Samara Palm Lodge. It was just as much fun retreating to the lodge as it was exploring and enjoying the local attractions. This is a little quiet garden (with only 8 rooms) enclosed from the world and close to the fun. Lothar and Bridgette have created a gem. I highly recommend it for mature adventurers who enjoy other travelers around the pool, but appreciate the peacefulness offered.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candace1497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
201
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardrossan, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the lodge and loved it. It is very clean, the breakfast is great and most of all, the hosts are very welcoming and extremely helpful. It is located close to the beach as well as the downtown street. The rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Samara Palm Lodge, it is like a little sanctuary. Brigitte and her husband were very helpful and welcoming. The whole place is absolutely spotless and there is secure parking onsite which is great. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiem315927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our room was spacious and immaculate, with AC and hot water. All rooms are situated around a beautifully landscaped pool that's very refreshing after a hot day. Breakfast is available and it was great-meats, cheeses, bread, fruit, juice, yogurt, cereal, and coffee. There's also an honor bar with snacks and beverages. Lothar and Brigette were gracious and helpful hosts, and the common area was a great place to meet and chat with the other guests. The beach is about a 5-10 minute walk on a fairly busy road. The only issue we had was that the rodeo was in town, and although it was fun to watch, the festivities continued until about 1AM for several nights and the noise carried into our room. If you're not a night owl, you may want to check to see when the rodeo is in town, and if it is, stay at the other end of the beach.

Room Tip: All rooms are situated around the pool. There are upstairs rooms so if stairs are difficult ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette010160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The lodge is owned by a very nice couple (ch/de). The breakfast is amazing as are the rooms! The lodge is situated like an oasis with a nice pool! Sàmara is beautiful and great for surfing (beginners and advanced).

We can recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webolix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We loved our stay at Samara Palm Lodge! It is a little gem in paradise. Lovely impeccable garden & pool, spacious clean rooms. The hotel is located just a few blocks from the tiny main street in Samara and a short walk to the beautiful large crescent shaped beach. If you are lucky, the Howler monkeys will greet you in the morning from the trees adjacent to the hotel.
Lothar and Bridgette are gracious and wonderful hosts. We wanted to stay for good!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel47721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This guesthouse is just fantastic. We ended up staying 7 nights because we loved it so much. It's small (I think 8 bedrooms) which is lovely because you get to know all the other guests. Rooms are arranged facing out on to the pool (which is a wonderful welcome relief from the heat!) and are always spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It's very slightly out of town (though a 5 minute stroll) and is just minutes from the beautiful beach. This really is perfect as you don't get any of the traffic noise at night (instead you get the wonderful sound of the monkeys!). We hired bikes from the lodge and cycled to two other beaches (Buena Vista and Carillo) and it was one of our favourite days. Breakfast is available for $8 and is delicious (and fresh).

Though, the best part of the place is definitely Lothar and Brigitte. They are simply wonderful - so helpful, chatty and just a general pleasure to be around. They also speak almost any language under the sun are went out of their way to help us check a reservation at our next hotel. They pet dog and cat are also gorgeous and you get many a hummingbird coming to visit you every day! Oh, and the hammocks in the gardens are massively comfortable and in shade. I would definitely come back to Samara Palm Lodge and can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Lower level has A/C, top floor has ceiling fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Pequeno Gecko Verde
El Pequeno Gecko Verde
#3 of 32 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
10.6 mi away
Villas Kalimba
Villas Kalimba
#1 of 32 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samara Palm Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samara Palm Lodge

Property: Samara Palm Lodge
Address: 250 mts del Banco Nacional oeste | Rio Lagarto, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated around 5-7 minutes from the village /center of Playa Samara. (Walking distance 5-7 minutes) and nearby the Beach (around 5 minutes)The Lodge is under a Swiss- German Managment.We know how important holidays are for you, and we promise you an unforgettable, lovely stay at our Lodge.We are looking forward to welcome you in our little paradise. For any further questions or bookings please contact us directly ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing