We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great lunch spot on Playa Samara”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tabanuco

Tabanuco
Ranked #36 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Latin, International, Spanish, Pub, South American, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great lunch spot on Playa Samara”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I visited Play Samara in April 2012 and loved having lunch at Tabanuco. The restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere with a great view of the beach, great cocktails, and delicious food. The rice dishes were our favorites.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCAttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    41
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was our first place we went to after checking into our hotel. Everything we had was excellent. The place looked kind of fancy for us, but their prices were about the same as all the other places, even compared to the dumps. Plus you have a beautiful view of the beach and cloth napkins. We did try other places but everytime we said we should have just gone back to Tabanuco. We eat here 3 times and tried for a 4th, but it was closed. Really good ceviche.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrolfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Fresh fish, well seasoned food. good prices. Right by the beach and great views with great ocean breeze

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkNina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun Ladies Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I went here on Thursday night which is ladies night. Lots of fun. They also had a local band on Saturday so be sure to ask about this. Nice way to get immersed in the local culture.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sparkyygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Went for drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We met another couple from the US and met here for drinks. Everything was good and the service was very attentive (they even kept wiping the condensation off the table from our beers). The only reason why it didn't get 5 stars is we had 2 shots of Don Julio tequila, and they charged $20. That seems very high, unless Don Julio is a special thing there. We didn't contest it, just left to go to Lo Que Hay.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SueLo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabanuco also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Tabanuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing