We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Broad Selection of Food for the Family”

Restaurante Casa Esmeralda
Ranked #27 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Broad Selection of Food for the Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Casa Esmeralda was recommended to us by our hotel. While the outside isn't much to look at, the restaurant had the right amount of hustle and bustle appropriate for our family of four, including our 5 year old son. The menu choices were pretty broad--seafood, pasta, typico... My son scarfed down a gigantic plate of spaghetti with meat sauce. I had a house-recommended pasta with a shrimp and mushroom wine sauce. The other two in our party ordered rice dishes with shrimp and vegetables. There were definitely no complaints at our table! Of all the places we ate during our 5 days in Samara, this was one of our favorites and a very easy place to take the family.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmresource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    136
    33
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good in Samara terms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Not very happy with the food in Samara. Casa Esmeralda was good enough for a second visit. Had fish and shrimp in tomato sauce the first time. Quite salty, but ok. Had rice a la Esmeralda the second time. The place is always full around 7.30 so be on time!

Helpful?
Thank Pinguin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Pulpo Italiano (octopus) was the best I have ever had, I went back a second time to enjoy it again. My other choices, all seafood, from the menu were also excellent. A very good, clean, well serviced restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajgw25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is delicious for seafood and typical tica food. It's also a lovely place and clean A good dinner place. It was recommended to us by a local.

Helpful?
Thank okmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“The Best Food and Service in Samara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

After dining for over a week in playa samara we discovered this hidden jem. 2 blocks from main intersection on rd to playa carrillo. Spotless, white linens, with excellent service. If trip advisor had six stars I would give them a six. Bathrooms supplied and spotless as well as kitchens and dining areas. They have 5 really nice rooms as well. Great job. We are here another week and will definitely return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Casa Esmeralda also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Restaurante Casa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing