We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Samara”

Restaurante Casa Esmeralda
Ranked #29 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Italian, Costa Rican, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Samara”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We are writing this review in praise of Esmeralda's, the best restaurant in town. We have the good fortune of spending a lot of time in Samara each year. One of the many pleasures that it affords is being able to dine at Esmeralda's many times during our stay. The restaurant has a first class menu and serves well crafted dishes the ingredients being fresh and of high quality, with unique flavours and beautifully blended sauces all at a reasonable price. The level of service is excellent and the friendly and cheerful staff can't do enough to make a visit to Esmeralda's an experience to remember.

Dave and Liz. (Belvedere) Canada

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    137
    34
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average Food”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

A lot of people love this restaurant, but I really dont see the appeal... perhaps I just havent ordered the right food. Staff is friendly and its open all day, so that is a plus

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmessier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food reasonable price not much atmosphere”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The whole snapper is excellent and a good deal, particularly when it is the special. All seafood is very good particularly the appetizers. Atmosphere is lacking, but service and food make it worth a visit

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MoonstruckArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Although not your beach side cafe the food is excellent and reasonably priced. The most we paid was $40 for 3 courses and a drink for 2 of us. Staff were friendly and effecient and recognised us on our second visit. Seafood pasta was excellent. We eat here for the 4 nights we were in Samara. Very convenient for Hotel Belvedere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal in Samara”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Although the location can't compete with the beach side restaurants like El Lagarto (second favourite), the food at Casa Esmeralda was awesome. I had the avocado fish (to die for), and they had an extensive kids menu as well. Good service, and really consistent food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenLSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Casa Esmeralda also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Restaurante Casa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing