We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Average Food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Casa Esmeralda

Restaurante Casa Esmeralda
Ranked #22 of 71 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Cameron Park, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

A lot of people love this restaurant, but I really dont see the appeal... perhaps I just havent ordered the right food. Staff is friendly and its open all day, so that is a plus

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmessier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    133
    32
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food reasonable price not much atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The whole snapper is excellent and a good deal, particularly when it is the special. All seafood is very good particularly the appetizers. Atmosphere is lacking, but service and food make it worth a visit

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MoonstruckArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Although not your beach side cafe the food is excellent and reasonably priced. The most we paid was $40 for 3 courses and a drink for 2 of us. Staff were friendly and effecient and recognised us on our second visit. Seafood pasta was excellent. We eat here for the 4 nights we were in Samara. Very convenient for Hotel Belvedere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal in Samara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Although the location can't compete with the beach side restaurants like El Lagarto (second favourite), the food at Casa Esmeralda was awesome. I had the avocado fish (to die for), and they had an extensive kids menu as well. Good service, and really consistent food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenLSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food. Excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Prompt and friendly wait staff recommended the fish. They fried a whole Tilapia for us. The fish was fresh, moist, and cooked just right. Octopus appetizer was terrific. Eat upstairs if you can.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Casa Esmeralda also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Restaurante Casa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing