We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent typical food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of house esmeralda

house esmeralda
Ranked #10 of 63 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent typical food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Not really on the beach but they serve an excellent and typical food. The fish with shrimps and tomato sauce was really delicious as well as the grilled fish served with rice, beans and sweet plantains. The service was also great and our dishes reasonably priced. Not the ideal place for dinner, but the food is really worth going there, so just try it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thelenkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    126
    31
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This restaurant had amazing gnocchi with gorganzola cream sauce, and they delivered to our bungalow at El Pequeno Gecko Verde.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rhianaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very good food, shame about the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We ate here as people have highly recommended the seafood including lobster. The restaurant was busy and most people appeared to already be eating however for whatever reason it took over an hour to receive our order including 45mins for some garlic bread. By this point we had almost polished off a bottle of wine. When the food did come it was tasty but much of the seafood was on the verge of being overcooked which let the side down slightly. The whole grilled snapper was the best part in our view.

To sum up, the restaurant is definitely worth a visit for the good food but they really need to work on their prep times!!

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moretea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and best value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I cannot find any cheaper place to eat in Samara than here. I loved the grilled fish dish which is 3200 colones (less than $7) which comes with salad, black beans, rice, plantains. I also tried the chicken with cheese which is ok. Too bad it was close on Sunday or I would go back 3 days in a row for dinner!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkBear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best place in Samara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is by far the best restaurant in Samara.
We had the lobster which was excellent as well as the seafood pasta. Even the casados are good.
Prices are reasonable but not cheap.
This is supposed to be the only local restaurant in Samara which makes us want to eat there even more.
Service friendly and genuine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pcberlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed house esmeralda also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to house esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing