We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Casa Esmeralda

Restaurante Casa Esmeralda
Ranked #12 of 67 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This restaurant had amazing gnocchi with gorganzola cream sauce, and they delivered to our bungalow at El Pequeno Gecko Verde.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rhianaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    127
    32
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very good food, shame about the wait!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We ate here as people have highly recommended the seafood including lobster. The restaurant was busy and most people appeared to already be eating however for whatever reason it took over an hour to receive our order including 45mins for some garlic bread. By this point we had almost polished off a bottle of wine. When the food did come it was tasty but much of the seafood was on the verge of being overcooked which let the side down slightly. The whole grilled snapper was the best part in our view.

To sum up, the restaurant is definitely worth a visit for the good food but they really need to work on their prep times!!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moretea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and best value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I cannot find any cheaper place to eat in Samara than here. I loved the grilled fish dish which is 3200 colones (less than $7) which comes with salad, black beans, rice, plantains. I also tried the chicken with cheese which is ok. Too bad it was close on Sunday or I would go back 3 days in a row for dinner!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkBear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best place in Samara”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is by far the best restaurant in Samara.
We had the lobster which was excellent as well as the seafood pasta. Even the casados are good.
Prices are reasonable but not cheap.
This is supposed to be the only local restaurant in Samara which makes us want to eat there even more.
Service friendly and genuine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pcberlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Easy to find, right in the main area of Samara. Food was pretty good. I had the spaghetti with seafood and was very happy with my meal. The others in my party thought the food was ok so I went with an average rating. Ambiance is nice. Pricing was good also.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Casa Esmeralda also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Restaurante Casa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing