We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”

Restaurante Casa Esmeralda
Ranked #29 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Italian, Costa Rican, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A lovely meal here, the service was excellent. Portions were big. So good we went back twice. Thank you.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank coyoteugly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    136
    34
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Lobster Pasta”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our tour guide who lives in Samara said that this was his favorite restaurant so we tried it. Awesome lobster pasta with white sauce!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Meals were very tasty. Nice and relaxed too. Was not that busy as low season. Great price for the meal and drinks. Again not on the beaten track, so take the time to find it really worth it.
Nice menu with lots of choice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank siberianpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food, drinks and service”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had the house special shimp with rice; very tasty and fresh.
Fruit smoothies are great.
Octopus is unique and excellent.
Service was prompt and polite.
Cost was less than we expected.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, MA/naples, FL
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great choice for our first night in Playa Samara”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

It was our first night in Samara and my husband's birthday so we chose Casa Esmeralda due to its favorable reviews. We were not disappointed! A short walk from our hotel, we found the service to be caring and the steaks first rate--I chose the pizziola steak and my husband had the pimenta steak--both winners. The drinks were tasty and well prepared. Admittedly, the restaurant is short on atmosphere, but it's the place to go to get off the beach for a bit and to enjoy a tender, nicely grilled steak!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryandkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Casa Esmeralda also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Restaurante Casa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing