We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Casa Esmeralda

Restaurante Casa Esmeralda
Ranked #20 of 71 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

A lovely meal here, the service was excellent. Portions were big. So good we went back twice. Thank you.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank coyoteugly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    131
    32
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Lobster Pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our tour guide who lives in Samara said that this was his favorite restaurant so we tried it. Awesome lobster pasta with white sauce!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Meals were very tasty. Nice and relaxed too. Was not that busy as low season. Great price for the meal and drinks. Again not on the beaten track, so take the time to find it really worth it.
Nice menu with lots of choice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank siberianpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food, drinks and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had the house special shimp with rice; very tasty and fresh.
Fruit smoothies are great.
Octopus is unique and excellent.
Service was prompt and polite.
Cost was less than we expected.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, MA/naples, FL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great choice for our first night in Playa Samara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

It was our first night in Samara and my husband's birthday so we chose Casa Esmeralda due to its favorable reviews. We were not disappointed! A short walk from our hotel, we found the service to be caring and the steaks first rate--I chose the pizziola steak and my husband had the pimenta steak--both winners. The drinks were tasty and well prepared. Admittedly, the restaurant is short on atmosphere, but it's the place to go to get off the beach for a bit and to enjoy a tender, nicely grilled steak!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maryandkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Casa Esmeralda also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Restaurante Casa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing