We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good and consistent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Ancla

El Ancla
Ranked #36 of 67 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Seafood, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Farmville, Virginia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good and consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We ate here four different times, four different meals, and each time we were not disappointed. I think El Ancla is slightly over-priced because of its location right on the beach, but they have a varied menu, and the food is good. Not gourmet, and not excellent, but consistently good. Service and atmosphere are good, too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank furnmtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    53
    23
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“skip it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I visited Playa Samara in April 2012 and considered El Ancla for dinner one evening. We decided to leave after being sat though, as the restaurant was far from clean. All of the table clothes were stained and dirty, the menu we received had food stuck to it, and the view of the kitchen left much to be desired. If you are looking for a meal in Playa Samara try Tabanuco or Gusto Creativo instead.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCAttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice place to hang out on the beach. They have games that can be played while enjoying your refreshments. I wish I would have found this place sooner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sparkyygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

My friends and I grabbed a quick lunch here on our last day. I split the chicken/beef nachos and the caprese salad. Both excellent! My fiance got their club sandwich which was loaded with all types of good stuff including fresh ham and an egg!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBlonde526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
464 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“The best seafood in region!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Every time I am in the Samara beach area I go to EL ANCLA. The seafood is very fresh and great. The atmosphere is terrific as you are right on the beach. The lobster dinner is an experience! Thank you "EL Ancla" for always being there!.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pablocollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ancla also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Ancla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing