We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and consistent”
Review of El Ancla

El Ancla
Ranked #36 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Loveland, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good and consistent”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We ate here four different times, four different meals, and each time we were not disappointed. I think El Ancla is slightly over-priced because of its location right on the beach, but they have a varied menu, and the food is good. Not gourmet, and not excellent, but consistently good. Service and atmosphere are good, too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank furnmtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    61
    27
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“skip it”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I visited Playa Samara in April 2012 and considered El Ancla for dinner one evening. We decided to leave after being sat though, as the restaurant was far from clean. All of the table clothes were stained and dirty, the menu we received had food stuck to it, and the view of the kitchen left much to be desired. If you are looking for a meal in Playa Samara try Tabanuco or Gusto Creativo instead.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCAttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, WI
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to relax!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice place to hang out on the beach. They have games that can be played while enjoying your refreshments. I wish I would have found this place sooner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sparkyygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My friends and I grabbed a quick lunch here on our last day. I split the chicken/beef nachos and the caprese salad. Both excellent! My fiance got their club sandwich which was loaded with all types of good stuff including fresh ham and an egg!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBlonde526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
574 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“The best seafood in region!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Every time I am in the Samara beach area I go to EL ANCLA. The seafood is very fresh and great. The atmosphere is terrific as you are right on the beach. The lobster dinner is an experience! Thank you "EL Ancla" for always being there!.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pablocollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ancla also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Ancla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing