We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sol Samara
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho De La Playa(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirador de Samara(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Beach(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Giada(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
118
67
36
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
67
36
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall poolwalk along the beachan enjoyable staydecent breakfastevery requestrecommend hotelnice place to staypura vidalaid back atmospheresmall hotelstayed two nightsmini fridgerestaurants and barsleotownstylizedcloset
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 241 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of a cozy beach hotel that didn't feel like a tourist trap. It's located a short drive (or nice long walk on the beach) from the minor hubbub of Samara's center, as well as a short drive in the other direction to tranquil Playa Carillo (which is somewhere definitely worth spending a lazy day under palms sipping rum and pineapple juice,or your beverage of choice). It's certainly not the fanciest of the places we stayed on our trip, but it's clean, cozy, and the staff is very friendly and attentive and will help you to arrange whatever excursions you'd like while there. We liked that the location, nestled among a small fishing village where we encountered chickens and dogs along the short walk to the beach, allowed us a little local flavor but some travelers expecting a more resort-like experience hidden from such things could be disappointed. All in all, it was a fantastic time and great value and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiebre79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay last month at Sol Samara. The staff was wonderful and the location is quite lovely. They also planned our wedding and we were married on the beach right down the road from the hotel. The wedding was perfect...a very magical sunset ceremony...complete with flowers and tikki torches! We even had dinner on the beach and the food was delicious. We highly recommend this hotel, good food, clean/comfortable rooms, charming little pool, steps from the beach and a great place to relax and get away from it all!!!!

Room Tip: We had the double room at the very end of the second floor. Wonderful balcony to sit on in the evenings and watch the birds.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvtotravel202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I were booked the stay three nights here as part of a trip through Gate 1 Travel. When we arrived, the staff was kind and the hotel room itself was clean.

We wanted to walk down to the beach which was only a couple hundred feet away. During the walk, we passed by roosters, dogs, etc. Honestly, it was okay as we understood at that point we were in a more local area. We were told there were a few beach-side bars and even had a map to show where they were - there was absolutely nothing on the beach (except a bunch of closed down buildings).

We ended up leaving that night, mainly because we were told there was scuba diving in the area (we had even located a dive shop before we left), but once we got there, were told there was definitely no diving nearby.

If you're looking for a laid-back, rustic location, then I'm sure you'll enjoy the hotel and the area. We were just expecting something different and it didn't match up with the plans we had made for that part of our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hotel Sol Samara is a little ways from the main beach but there is a secluded beach with fishing and snorkeling around the corner. the hotel staff are really nice and will help you book activities, taxis, or restaurants. We really enjoyed the zip lines and the snorkeling. Highly recommended if you have a car or don't mind walking to the main beach.

Also, there is a pool. It is hidden away in the back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

And also we had a very nice 4 days over there, we visited playa Carrillo and it is only 5 inutes from Sol Samara. Really we did enjoy the place ! Thanks

Room Tip: Second floor is better !
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear friends of Sol Samara Hotel
For us it is a joy to know that your stay in our hotel and the beautiful beaches of Samara and Carrillo Puerto was pleasant. Thank you very much for helping us build a image with your comments. We are committed to strive every day.
We look forward to see you back in our hotel.
Sol Samara staff .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews