We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding and Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Sol Samara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sol Samara
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay last month at Sol Samara. The staff was wonderful and the location is quite lovely. They also planned our wedding and we were married on the beach right down the road from the hotel. The wedding was perfect...a very magical sunset ceremony...complete with flowers and tikki torches! We even had dinner on the beach and the food was delicious. We highly recommend this hotel, good food, clean/comfortable rooms, charming little pool, steps from the beach and a great place to relax and get away from it all!!!!

Room Tip: We had the double room at the very end of the second floor. Wonderful balcony to sit on in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvtotravel202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 223 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I were booked the stay three nights here as part of a trip through Gate 1 Travel. When we arrived, the staff was kind and the hotel room itself was clean.

We wanted to walk down to the beach which was only a couple hundred feet away. During the walk, we passed by roosters, dogs, etc. Honestly, it was okay as we understood at that point we were in a more local area. We were told there were a few beach-side bars and even had a map to show where they were - there was absolutely nothing on the beach (except a bunch of closed down buildings).

We ended up leaving that night, mainly because we were told there was scuba diving in the area (we had even located a dive shop before we left), but once we got there, were told there was definitely no diving nearby.

If you're looking for a laid-back, rustic location, then I'm sure you'll enjoy the hotel and the area. We were just expecting something different and it didn't match up with the plans we had made for that part of our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hotel Sol Samara is a little ways from the main beach but there is a secluded beach with fishing and snorkeling around the corner. the hotel staff are really nice and will help you book activities, taxis, or restaurants. We really enjoyed the zip lines and the snorkeling. Highly recommended if you have a car or don't mind walking to the main beach.

Also, there is a pool. It is hidden away in the back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

And also we had a very nice 4 days over there, we visited playa Carrillo and it is only 5 inutes from Sol Samara. Really we did enjoy the place ! Thanks

Room Tip: Second floor is better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear friends of Sol Samara Hotel
For us it is a joy to know that your stay in our hotel and the beautiful beaches of Samara and Carrillo Puerto was pleasant. Thank you very much for helping us build a image with your comments. We are committed to strive every day.
We look forward to see you back in our hotel.
Sol Samara staff .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed two nights here and enjoyed it immensely. The staff were so accomodating in helping me make calls to the US to check on my son who had been hospitalized in my absence. The breakfast was excellent, our room was clean, the air conditioner worked great - what more can you ask for? Staff helped us book an ocean kayak tour and gave us directions and a discount coupon for an excellent restaurant. We enjoyed the beaches at Samara and Carillo. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and I hope to on my next trip to Costa Rica. Pura vida!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consuhotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Sol Samara, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for helping us build a positive image. We pledge to work every day to achieve it.
For us it is gratifying that your expectations have been met in our hotel and the beautiful beach in Samara.
We hope to see you soon

Sol Samara Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Sol Samara in April 2012 as part of a tour group. Of the month that I was away, this particular hotel provided the best and most professional service of all. Jesus was an absolute star and greeted us all by name every day and couldn't do enough to help. The hotel was in a great location right next to the beach and not too far a walk to town. The meals at this hotel were delicious and I highly recommend this hotel to everyone. The pool was lovely, quiet and clean and the family who manage this hotel were friendly and always accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel was extremely disappointing to us and we moved after the first night. We were booked here on a trip through Gate One Travel. We were to stay three nights here and expected it to be the same level as we had encountered previously. To start, the area is "rustic". You walk five to seven minutes down a dirt lane to the beach on which we encountered dogs, roosters, iguana and even a wandering horse- Lots of local color here!! The rooms are small with no place to put your luggage on, and no dresser drawers, but they are very clean as we found everything to be in Costa Rica. The reception staff spoke very limited english, but made a great effort to be helpful when they knew we were unhappy with the accomodations. The female manager/owner came to the hotel, but she too spoke limited English. We spoke with with Leo the next morning and he was in another town. The reception/breakfast room/restaurant was completely open and we found it to be uncomfortably hot. Perspiring while eating breakfast doesn't lend itself to an enjoyable experience. There is a large grassy yard which all rooms look out on, but we didn't find it at all scenic although we did enjoy watching the cat lounging around all the chickens. The beach at Samara is lovely and when we moved to Flamingo Beach we missed the water and wide beach. At the beach near Sol Samara there were no lounge chairs at this location to enjoy the beach, however the hotel did offer plastic upright chairs which were around the tables on the lawn. We were traveling with my in laws and they were equally disappointed.with the hotel and I thought this review might be helpful to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pambo816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consuhotel, Director of Sales at Hotel Sol Samara, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Guest:
Thank for taking the time to write your feedback to us, we learn every day from you and get motivation from this to improve every day.
We are sorry about the mistake of your agency booking you in our hotel that is a 3 star hotel instead of a 5 o 4 star as you expected and mentioned from the beginning of your comment.
Bellboys, air conditioned restaurant, lounge chairs at the beach and concierge service are not part of our services and we don’t offer such in any of our advertising ,web page etc.

We wanted to make you feel as good as possible among us with was on our reach by offering you a free dinner, no charge update to our master suite and make the necessary phone calls to your agency to get you a superior hotel in a different destination since Samara do not have 5 star hotels.
Samara is a beach town full of Costa Rican flavor and hotels are managed by local families mainly.
We will definitely continue working on improve our English skills, thank you for your comment and most important we hope you and your family had an enjoyable vacation in Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
865 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
409 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
100 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#16 of 16 in Playa Samara
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Samara

Address: Samara Beach, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range: $72 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol Samara 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Samara is located within walking distance of Playa Samara and very close to Puerto Carrillo Beach, two of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica and Central America, according to expert travel critics such as Trip Advisor.You will be greeted at our hotel with authentic Costa Rican charm and courteous service, making you feel at home from the moment of your arrival. Hotel Sol Samara offers within its facilities an open air lobby cafe/lounge, a restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and a pool. Rooms offer new features such as flat screen TVs, telephones and air-conditioning, all of which can be left behind at your choice to fade into the relaxing tropical paradise Samara Beach.From the hotel, you can enjoy unforgettable tours and guided activities such as kayaking and snorkeling trips to Isla Chora, turtle observation tours to Playa Camaronal or Ostional National Park, tours to Palo Verde, guided trips to the Barra Honda Caverns, Dolphin watching tours, bird watching tours on bike, tours with the crocodiles and many adventure activities like the fun banana boat ride and the innovative Stand up and Paddle in Playa Samara. You can simply relax in our facilities or explore this vast beach and enjoy the extraordinary sunsets of Playa Samara, participate in the traditions and culture of the Samara community and surrounding villages as well as the colonial city of Nicoya. Observe and share experiences with local families and learn about artisan lobster fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Sol Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing