We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great food, great location, couldn`t ask for more...”
Review of Hotel Sol Samara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sol Samara
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Great service, great food, great location, couldn`t ask for more...”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

This hotel, located 5 minutes away from downtown is just PERFECT, perfect for resting, the rooms are super clean, the insite owners makes a huge difference, they are always looking forward to serve the guests, their FREE combo, as they call it just make a difference, free breakfast, free WIFI, free safety box and the best...FREE international calls to most of the countries, actually the rate is low for the service you get, a place to stay, a place to enjoy. Night life in Samara is excellent, crowed, excited, but once you get to the hotel its like ahhhhh, no noise, no crowded, excellent for a good night sleep, full recommendation. The receptionist helped us in booking all the adventure tours, canopy, scuba diving, snorkeling, kayak, it was an intense week full of adventure, great company, great service!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are standard, upper level is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oramirezg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    58
    32
    7
    8
See reviews for
58
88
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

excellent hotel the staff where the best.owners on site all the time food was great.the area was safe and quiet.hotel is very clean.everyone was very accommodating.would return in a moment

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The rooms are beautiful, clearly updated, clean and well maintained. The actual location of the hotel is awkward. It is in the middle of a normal (run-down?) neighborhood in "Samara" and the beach? Not a beach a female would ever feel comfortable laying on for the day. I have never been so disappointed in the location of a hotel before. The owner is VERY kind and VERY helpful, he instructed us it's not the beach to spend the day and drove us down a ways to Playa Carrillo which was GORGEOUS (better than Samara) and authentic. I am extremely grateful we did have the chance to experience Carrillo which we would not have if we stayed in Samara. The food at Sol Samara was good, the breakfast which is included was delicious and the one lunch we had was great. The margaritas? Awesome (especially the mango margarita) and great Happy Hour special :). We are in our mid 20s and were looking for a hotel walking distance to the town/beach of Samara. We were interested in going to the beach during the day, browsing the town, coming back to nap and going out at night and walking back at night. This is NOT the hotel for you if you have similar expectations. It is a $6 cab ride to Samara each way, this added at least $60 to our trip. If you have a car and are not interested in spending the day at the beach and don't mind driving back and forth from the town of Samara, this is the hotel for you. There is also free wiFi.

Also- there are LOUD roosters and dogs in the house next door who start their vocal exercises at 5am. I'm a heavy sleeper and this woke me up most mornings, I'm not a picky person so this was OK but if you are looking for a full night's sleep, might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelsForWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Nothing to complain about, the food was perfect, the hotel service excellent, high standard of the room and a very kind hotel Manager! I strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRO81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My family of 5, which included 3 young adults, stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas. Breakfast was delicious (we recommend the huevos rancheros). Everyone associated with this hotel, from the owners to the cooks and wait staff did everything they could to make us feel at home.
It is a little farther away than we thought from the restaurants and night life (such as it is) of Samara proper. It is quite close to the amazing beach at Carrillo, which we highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I traveled with my two kids to Hotel Sol Samara for Spring Break. We were welcomed by Oljar (probobly not close to spelling that correctly!) and made to feel right at home. We had great food (ate the wonderful breakfast every day and had dinner there two nights). The food was terrific and wonderful, personal service. He helped us with some planning for the rest of our trip and even made some phone calls for us. The thing that really clinched my strong feelings for this hotel is this...On the second night of our trip, my oldest son got very sick and I needed to get him to the doctor the next day. The English speaking doctor, however, was not in town that day. Oljar dropped what he was doing and accompanied me to the doctor as my Spanish is conversational but not good enough for a medical visit. I found all of the people in Costa Rica so nice, friendly and gracious, but I really felt like this went above all of that. I cannot thank him enough!! Will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug33423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alden, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I was absolutely blown away by the beauty, charm, hospitality, and exceptional meals here at Hotel Sol Samara. I would definitely come back to stay here and plan to visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbprainito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
854 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
388 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Samara

Property: Hotel Sol Samara
Address: Samara Beach, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol Samara 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Samara is located within walking distance of Playa Samara and very close to Puerto Carrillo Beach, two of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica and Central America, according to expert travel critics such as Trip Advisor.You will be greeted at our hotel with authentic Costa Rican charm and courteous service, making you feel at home from the moment of your arrival. Hotel Sol Samara offers within its facilities an open air lobby cafe/lounge, a restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and a pool. Rooms offer new features such as flat screen TVs, telephones and air-conditioning, all of which can be left behind at your choice to fade into the relaxing tropical paradise Samara Beach.From the hotel, you can enjoy unforgettable tours and guided activities such as kayaking and snorkeling trips to Isla Chora, turtle observation tours to Playa Camaronal or Ostional National Park, tours to Palo Verde, guided trips to the Barra Honda Caverns, Dolphin watching tours, bird watching tours on bike, tours with the crocodiles and many adventure activities like the fun banana boat ride and the innovative Stand up and Paddle in Playa Samara. You can simply relax in our facilities or explore this vast beach and enjoy the extraordinary sunsets of Playa Samara, participate in the traditions and culture of the Samara community and surrounding villages as well as the colonial city of Nicoya. Observe and share experiences with local families and learn about artisan lobster fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sol Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing