We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect For A Long Stay”
Review of Bambula Samara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bambula Samara
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for three weeks while studying Spanish at the Intercultura Language school. The location is great--very close to the shops, restaurants and beach. The complex itself is beautiful and the inner courtyard with the pool is very secluded and surrounded by lush, beautiful vegetation. The owners were wonderful and treated us as welcomed guests the whole time we were there. They let my son borrow a boogie board, and even drove us to a local soda shop across a river where we had the best seafood soup we've ever tasted! My favorite part was listening to all the wildlife at night--even though the monkeys one night were so close and so loud that it was hard to sleep. All in all, a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend Bambula!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very helpful friendly hosts, spacious beautiful apartments in a quiet secluded Place close to the Center of Samara. We really enjoyed our stay in Bambula a lot. The kitchen was fully equipped, the bedroom very big and the bathroom comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank presenhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were two families and this was just the right place! Pierre, the owner, is extremely kind, the house was very clean, close to the beech but just outside the crowded area of the village.
A place to come back and very recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We just returned home to the US after 2 weeks at the Bambula in Samara. We have stayed with Pierre before, in Maui and this place is just as awesome!

Pierre has built a wonderful compound, with a swimming pool surrounded by lush plants and teeming with singing bird and chirping frogs. The room was very comfortable, quiet and well maintained. We spent our mornings preparing breakfast in the outdoor kitchen, which is fully stocked with cooking and eating utensils. It was nice to also have access to a washer and dryer. The Bambula feels like our own home in Costa Rica.

The town of Samara is friendly and has shops with all the things you could want. It was a short walk from Bambula to the beach, shops and restaurants. Pierre can give you the inside scoop on where to eat, which tours to take and what to see in the area.

We would stay here again and in fact, can hardly wait to plan our next trip back! Thanks Pierre, for another great vacation.

Room Tip: If you are not used to HOT weather, be sure and ask for the cabina with the A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steal607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We found this hotel through the reviews on tripadvisor, and we are really glad we did! Samara is a great town, and hotel Bambula has a great location just off the main road. This location keeps you close to everything, including a 2 minutes walk to the beach, without suffering any of the noise.

The hotel pool is great for hot afternoons and it is well shaded. The owner, Pierre, is tons of fun. He is friendly and has a bunch of connections in the town, whatever kind of vacation activity you are looking for, he can hook you up!

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the separate guest rooms, and it was great. Everything we needed and it included access to the outdoor kitchen, which is great if you don't feel like going out for every single meal. It was the cheapest place in town, and we had a kitchen, so overall it was a really great experience, I'd recommend it to anyone looking to visit Samara!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

It was our second trip to Costa Rica, after 6 years…
Bambula villa:
Was a magical experience, a wonderful place...peaceful! It was a real pleasure to stay in this private villa. Pierre (the owner) is just so cool person…, helpful and cooperative host. He will arrange a pick-up/ drop-off if you need, can give you such good ideas on the best place to eat and worthy places to go to enjoy Costa Rica/Samara in best way. What is funny – in his company you feel like an old friends. On the other hand, he can give you a valuable advice or share his opinion if you think of investing in Costa Rica.
The villa is very close to town but away from the noise of the town. It is very private and safe. We stayed at cabina for 12 days. The room was clean, big and comfortable enough for 2 persons. Furniture is made of solid tropical wood which gives a nice feel to the place. Outside kitchenette gave additional opportunity to be on the fresh air around massive tropical trees and listen to the monkey’s “songs”.
Samara beach:
Is stunning and just a few minutes away. We’ve been to Carillo, Flamingo, Conchal, Coco, Ocotal beaches in CR. Only Samara beach has its unique relaxation power!!!

Pierre is jewels in his own way and I think does an excellent job. Therefore we can tell: yes, we will be back one day, to visit wonderful Pierre, to enjoy the hospitality of Bambula, and be one-on-one with Samara beach…

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dearnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Playa Samara is located about 120 km from Liberia airport, and takes about 1.5-2 hours depending on traffic. Pierre (the owner) arranged for us a Taxi to come and pick us up, with a very friendly driver-Rodrigo. Taxi costs ($110-$130 depending on the time of day).
Our family of four stayed in the Iguana suite during the holiday season. the suite is very spacious (my guess approx 700 sqf ), has a master bedroom with a little office area, a living room with a second double bed, an equipped kitchen with all the basics and a beautiful covered portico that serves as a dining area. there's air condition for a small extra charge, and free internet. It is not luxurious, but rather rustic in a tasteful kind of way. Teak is used throughout the house, from exposed beam cathedral ceilings to cabinetry, doors and furniture. all hand made. Pierre's Photos decorate the walls, and make you think of your next holiday destination.
there's a small pool that is shared by all 4 units, which is really nice and gets some shade in the morning.
You are responsible for cleaning your room, and are provided with some basic detergents and broom.
Pali Supermarket is within a 100 yard distance, and Playa Samara supermarket within 250 yards. You can get groceries, additional cleaning supplies, and bug spray. The only thing we found you couldn't get because they sold out was a beach umbrella.
The hotel is situated within 5 minutes walk from the amazing Playa Samara beach, which we all loved. i have reviewed this beach separately, but will just say that because of the low tide you are sometimes required to sit in shade where the trees are, while the water is a good 20 yards away. (that's when the beach umbrella would come useful especially if you have little kids that don't want to come out of the water)
there's plenty of local restaurants, all within 5-10 min walking distance, ranging from decent to really excellent. our favorite was Casa Esmeralda. since they are all priced pretty much the same ($60 for 4 people) this one was by far best food, cocktails and service.
For the holidays there was a local fair going on just across from our suite, that included rides for kids, food and music. it was high decibels for sure but our young kids had such a blast to go there every night, that we couldn't complain. from Dec 29th-Jan 1 they also had a Rodeo show which was a thrill to watch.
to conclude i will highly recommend this place. Great suite,Great location, Great host- Thanks again Pierre.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gl0betr0tterny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.9 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
874 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
933 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#10 of 16 in Playa Samara
120 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambula Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambula Samara

Address: Norte del Patio Colonial 50 m | 50 M Al Oeste, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range: $35 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenidos a Bambula, your home away from home. This casa is a jungle oasis in the heart of Samara. We offer the perfect location, easy walking distance to everything in town and only 200 meters to the beautiful beach. Bambula has all modern amenities, with typical Costa Rican woodwork and charm. Perfect for the solo traveler, families, and large groups alike, Bambula can custom fit to your needs to make your time in paradise unforgettable! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing