We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem For The Price!”
Review of Bambula Samara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bambula Samara
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Nice place, a ten minute walk past shops to the beach. The pool was a must for cooling down in the hot afternoons. The place is very roomy with a full kitchen and almost every thing you could want for kitchen tools. Great shower and large seperate bath tub. It gets a bit noisy with the wildlife until you get used to it, although to be fair it had rained heavily the first night we arrived and Pierre said the frogs had been affected by this.
Watch your change even in the shops. No-one seems to like giving back the correct change to tourists! Pierre sent us to the El Dorado restaurant in neighboring El Carmine. Excellent seafood soup for about $8 Cdn! Wow! Also try the reserve hike with Alvaro and take the time to check out Camarrillo Beach one bay over.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debilynsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2010

On the outskirts of Sámara, & ~10 min. walk to the Pacific. Quieter than other lodgings in the town - a major plus for our middle-aged group of students of Spanish & artists. Clean rooms in the apt. on arrival. Spacious. Well-equipped kitchen (pans, knives, blender for tropical fruit smoothies, coffeemaker, etc.). Decent bathroom fixtures, i.e. clean, modern, & in working order; plenty of hot water. AC in bedroom makes sleeping easier & is a cool, dry retreat from those too-hot-&-humid or monsoon-rains days. You clean the apt. yourself; clean linens always available. Small yard, but lush plantings & sparkling small relaxation pool. Wi-fi receivable on the porch. You will get used to living with geccos. I am a mosquito magnet but had no trouble here, even w/ the rainy season. Outer gates always locked; felt safe.
Bambula wouldn't be Bambula however without the on-site owner Pierre. When our side-trip plans fell thru' several times, he came to the rescue by calling his multitude of friends & arranged some of our best excursions. His restaurant recommendations were right on target, as also places to see or places to avoid. Despite years in the lodging business, he doesn't seem bored or jaded by foreigners with the same questions. He chatted at length w/ us most days. He has some wild tales to tell.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValleyArmchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

The Bambula Inn is within walking distance of the beach as well as Samara restaurants. The apartments have a full kitchen and are spacious. There is a beautiful pool to cool off in and monkeys visit the nearby trees. The owner is very friendly and helpful. Due to its privacy the Bambula Inn provided the feeling of a home away from home that you don't find in a typical hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamsenbenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We rented the entire "main house" at Bambula, 3 people in the downstairs apartment and 2 people in the upstairs apartment. Both apartments had air conditioning which we only used sporadically at night to help us sleep better. The apartments had ceiling fans, large beds, tables, and kitchens with just about any utensil you would need. The apartments were very clean. We were responsible for keeping them tidy during our stay. Both apartments had TVs but we never turned them on! We had one or two geckos living with us who provided entertainment and photo opportunities, and outside were iguanas and a tribe of howler monkeys.
Bambula Inn is within walking distance of just about any place you would want to go in Samara....the beach, grocery store, Intercultura school, internet cafe, restaurants, pharmacies. We didn't need a car at all. The bus stop to Nicoya is around the corner. Zip-lining, turtle watching, kyacking could all be arranged right in town. Pierre was also a wealth of information on how to get things done, including making telephone calls to line up horseback riding and our van back to the Liberia airport.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madaboutballet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

During our round the world trip we were looking for somewhere special to stay for a week at Christmas '09 and whilst researching on the Internet we came across Bambula Samara, which looked ideal. Being in a small town, Bambula Samara is close to all the amenities and most importantly the beach.

It is the residence of Pierre, who is a real character. He is very welcoming, friendly and helpful and always willing to give suggestions of things to do and see in the area. We felt totally at home for our entire stay.

It is a beautiful building with a wooden balcony, quirky touches and even it's own pool (if you get tired of the sea). The house itself is separated into 2 fully contained apartments, we stayed on the top floor, there is also a separate building with 2 further en-suite bedrooms. Bambula Samara is regularly visited by the local howler monkeys and iguanas that like to climb on the balcony and roof.

Our stay at Bambula Samara was excellent, we couldn't have asked for anywhere more perfect than this. We highly recommend Bambula Samara to everyone including individuals, couples and families with children.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeccaandSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Bambula Samara is a great place to go for a wonderful vacation! Everything is in a walk distance - gorgeous beach, luxury restaurants and bars, supermarkets, butcher, bakery, even doctor's office. The house is comfortable and spacious...Pierre, the owner, is a kind and easy person to communicate with, great photographer and sailor...
So, just go for your new adventures, explore, enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElenaM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We stayed at Bambula Samara in Nov 2009 and finally have gotten around to posting a comment. We rented the first floor apartment unit. Unit had kitchen, separate air conditioned bedroom and bath. The small pool was right outside our door. Quiet location.
The owner Pierre was very pleasant and was in the process of finishing up the place for guests. It is a small property just a short walk to beaches, bars, restaurants.
For the price it was great.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank J_PVermont_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.9 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
874 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
930 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#10 of 16 in Playa Samara
120 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambula Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambula Samara

Address: Norte del Patio Colonial 50 m | 50 M Al Oeste, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range: $35 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenidos a Bambula, your home away from home. This casa is a jungle oasis in the heart of Samara. We offer the perfect location, easy walking distance to everything in town and only 200 meters to the beautiful beach. Bambula has all modern amenities, with typical Costa Rican woodwork and charm. Perfect for the solo traveler, families, and large groups alike, Bambula can custom fit to your needs to make your time in paradise unforgettable! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing