We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, average cocktails”
Review of Locanda

Locanda
Ranked #14 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, Seafood, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Italian restaurant and Pizzeria, with large spaces and comfortable tables and seats on the beach, all under the shade of spectacular palm trees. The kitchen offers one of the most exciting interpretations of traditional Italian dishes, both land and sea, and a great choice of Pizzas cooked in a wood oven, accompanied by a good wine list and a wide selection of cocktails.
Brandwijk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, average cocktails”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast and lunch at Locanda. Location is perfect. Food was excellent but the staff was mostly inattentive. Staff is quick to respond when you enter the restaurant but does not pay attention when you have finished your drink or food. We had to wait more than 1 hour for our lunch order (after 2 reminders). On the upside the food was good and reasonably priced. Cocktails were okisch but not great. The long Island Ice tea was a complete miss.

Helpful?
1 Thank pdebruijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    127
    42
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh, creative, great!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We ate there every other day for almost 3 weeks. Everything on the menu is great. The food is not just fresh and tasty, it is cooked and served with love and care. Seviche was our favorite and the fisherman's stew was The Best Thing I ever had! Great afternoon hideout.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oksana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great roasted fish in Samara”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I am just returning from a three week vacation in Samara, and Locanda was one restaurant that I kept coming back to.

By far the best atmosphere in all of Samara beach -- their white cushioned chairs and palm umbrellas meant I could hang out there for hours. I highly recommend their 2 for 1 drink specials (2 drinks for 3500 colones, and ours were always strong), the guacamole, and the 2 person fish platter (15,000 or 20,000 colones for 2 I think). The roasted whole fish on the fish platter is absolutely divine, and it also comes with tuna, shrimp, and calamari. All in all, a very good meal every time and a great place to relax on the beach and have a drink.

Like many places they only take cash and their servers speak very little English, so learn a few Spanish phrases before you go (this will also help at some of the restaurants deeper into town).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiishstiicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in Costa Rica”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was by far the best food and place we ate at in Costa Rica. Your food is fresh and cooked over a wood fire grill. Amazing food and value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TEE995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in Samara!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We ate bolognese and carbonara pasta one night at Locanda and it was fabulous! The italian owner, Domenico, cooked it himself and it was great. He seems to be such a nice guy but unfortunately he didn't speak English, neither French, so we were not able to communicate properly. But we know for a fact that he's shy and certainly not arrogant. The staff is really nice, and in the morning, you can seat there, have a great breakfast and look at the horses on the beach. And, as an added value, the owner is really cute!
Suzanne and Patricia

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing