We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Title: Peaceful and lovely house – with great...”
other traveler has booked this property
Inside looking out view.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Inside looking out view.
Incredible view from very high elevation Front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Inside looking out view.
Incredible view from very high elevation
Front
Entrance
Ariel shot
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master walk in closet with lap size personal safe
Living area
Master ensuite bath with ocean views
Master bedroom with view
Guest bedroom with ocean views
Guest bedroom with ocean views
Guest bathroom
Guest bedroom with ocean views
Guest bedroom with ocean views
Central living area completely open to outdoors and pool
Kitchen area sink in island faces ocean views
Front view
Guest bedroom view
Outdoor dinning and pool views
Central living area views
Evening front view
Samara and Carillo beach views
Areil view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Citydwell...
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Title: Peaceful and lovely house – with great views”
Reviewed April 30, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Other reviewers have talked at length about this villa’s excellent facilities and we wholeheartedly agree. The house is well thought-out, modern, airy and immaculately clean. There were just the two of us and we especially enjoyed the design of the master suite – though the other rooms looked great too. We spent most of our time at the house watching the scenery and the wildlife and really just relaxing. It was perfect. We had howler monkeys easily visible in neighbouring trees, as well as coatis and a variety of birds including hummingbirds.

Special thanks to Melissa for looking after us so well on check-in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2018
THANK YOU SO MUCH for the wonderful review! We are very happy to hear that all was good! And yes...Melissa works magic!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0MikesTra...
Youngsville, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning Panoramic Views - Responsive Owners - a true vaction retreat.”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Villa Libelula (“Villa Dragonfly”) was everything we had hoped it would be. Beautiful sunrises to magnificent sunsets – all of which were observed from the million dollar view of this magnificent Samaran Villa. It was not just the view that made this trip a soothing and relaxing get-away from the wintery states – it was this well-appointed, modern, clean vacation retreat that soothed the soul and made for a great trip. We have rented a number of Villas from VRBO, and this one is at the top of our list. A few of the reasons that we put this VRBO rental on our top ten list is:

Owner Responsiveness – Within hours after we sent our initial inquiry to the owner about the property we received an informative, and incredibly quick, response. This responsiveness was not just a one-time thing. We had a number of questions, and with each question we submitted, the response was prompt and informative. Our experience has been that VRBO owners are not always quick to get back to you. This is not the case with Kristina and we certainly appreciated her caring about our vacation as much as we did.

Site Manager Responsiveness - Melissa is the owner’s on-site representative. As with any vacation rental there are always questions and from time to time minor issues that need to be addressed. Melissa made herself available to us around the clock and has the same passion as the owner for doing whatever she can to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The initial orientation of the Villa by Melissa was thorough and helpful.

Best Furnished Kitchen – Out of all of the VRBO’s we stayed in, this Villa had the best equipped kitchen. I know that many vacationers plan to prepare very few meals during their vacation. And we are like mind. That being said, from time to time we like to prepare dinner (or breakfast), open a bottle of wine (well maybe not wine for breakfast) and enjoy some family time around the pool, or watch the sunsets or maybe sneak in a game or two. If preparing some of your meals is part of your vacation, then this is the place to be. All of the dishes, pots, pans, serving wear, and appliances that you need to prepare a gourmet meal is right at your fingertips – all of which can be done with a five star view.

Floor Plan – The floor plan has been well thought out. The centerpiece of the villa is the open floor plan that encompasses the kitchen, dining, family room and back porch, all of which is designed to immerse the visitor in a stunning ocean view. The master bedroom and bath are more than sufficient to be comfortable with a very large walk in closet adjoining the master bedroom. The other two guest rooms are on the opposite side of the house and share a bathroom. It can get a little warm in the guest bathroom as it is not part of the air conditioned bedrooms. The separation between the rooms provides for plenty of privacy. Thus should one of your guests desire a quick nap, they can slip off to one of the bedrooms and the rest of the group can continue to enjoy the rest of the Villa.

Security – We never felt uncomfortable or the least bit insecure at the Villa. The Villa is located behind an iron gate with a small but certainly manageable driveway. There is perimeter lighting with motion detectors that you can activate from inside the Villa. Each room has its own wall safe to protect your valuables while you are away. Other than the landscape crew that came by to cut the small yard we did not see anyone else during our stay.

Wi-Fi – There is Wi-Fi on the site and it is easy to connect to and worked flawlessly. The internet speeds were much higher than I anticipated for the location.

Driving to the Villa – We flew into Liberia airport and drove to the Villa. It took approximately 2 hours to get to Samara. Upon arrival we met Melissa in town and she escorted us to the Villa. As recommended by the owner, I would not attempt to find the Villa the first time without the aid of Melissa. Once we found the Villa the first time there was very little problem finding our way back to the Villa on subsequent trips. The road from Samara to the Villa is largely paved, however, the last couple of kilometers is a combination of paved and rocky roads. The last part of the road to the Villa is on a moderately steep rocky road. While we had a 4 wheel drive vehicle, we never used the 4 wheel drive feature in Samara or getting to the Villa.

Other Features – Just like the kitchen, the Villa is well appointed. The rocking chairs on the porch overlooking the pool and the ocean view are wonderful and we spent many an hours sipping cocktails, rocking away while enjoying the magnificent vista. There are also a number of chaise lounges available for sun worshippers. There is a modern washer and dryer on the premises. We packed way too many clothes. With the washer and dryer you can pack less and travel lighter. There are a number of beach towels provided (they are getting near their end of life) and thus there is no need to bring beach towels. The big screen T.V. is located in the main area of the house surrounded by comfortable couches which some of the group were found to be napping on from time to time. The T.V. shows are largely, if not solely, in Spanish. Thus if you are not fluent in Spanish, there is little to watch by way of T.V. We were escaping from the day to day grind and thus the T.V. was not something that was important to us. That being said, the T.V. is a “smart t.v.” that is connected to the internet so we did watch a movie one night on Netflix.

Samara – this little out of the way beach town does not boast the number of “tourists activities” that can be found in other parts of the Costa Rican Pacific coast. While there are some of the touristy things to do in and around Samara – if you are looking for resort type activities you will likely need to travel to Tamarindo. We made a day trip over to Tamarindo (about a 90 minute drive depending on traffic, etc.) for a day of resort type activities. Since we were looking for a “get-away” we found the “chill” experience of the Samara beach more to our liking. Lazy days watching the surf roll in and hanging out at the beach bars worked just fine for our group. There are a number of restaurants in the area (about a 10 minute drive from the Villa) which provide a variety of dinner fares. One of the highlights of the trip was having a private masseuse come to the Villa and provide massages on the back porch. The combination of the mesmerizing ocean view and the soothing hands of a masseuse made for an unforgettable masseuse. We invited the masseuse to come to the Villa early in the trip so that we could transition to “pura vida” early in our trip.

The View – I saved the best for last. The view from the Villa is simply breathtaking. When I was exchanging emails with owner as we planned our trip, she informed me that the photos of the Villa simply do not do justice to the actual view. Truer words have never been spoken. When you first open the door to the house you are greeted with a panoramic vista of the ocean where beautiful sunrises and sunsets transport you to a different place and time. For some of our group, they spent all day admiring the view while spending lazy hours around and in the pool – which in and of itself is nothing short of grand.

All in all – this is a great vacation retreat – with wonderful owners, a superb support team and a fantastic Costa Rican retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2018
Michael, you certainly have outdone yourself with this review! You have no idea how thrilled I was to read everything that made you and your group happy about staying at our home! Your attention to details made your review so very informative for others. Thank you once again, Kristina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtomsky11
Warren, New Jersey
1 review
“Best house in Samara without a doubt!”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My wife and I and four of our friends stayed at Villa Libelula for two weeks this past January.
We have been going to Costa Rica for years and finally convinced some friends to join us. Our stay was the best we have had in all the years of visiting CR. The house is brand new and every room has its own view, exactly as shown in the photos. One of the best things about our stay was knowing that when we left the house, day or night, we had a security system to turn on. This was the first house we have rented that had this and it really added to our peace of mind. All in all, the house, view, amenities and the town of Samara were all perfect! We have definitely found the go to house in Samara!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
We are so pleased to hear that you all had such a good vacation at VILLA LIBÉLULA! Thank you so much for the rave review, much appreciated! So glad you have been enjoying Samara for all these years and "yes" the security system certainly helps with peace of mind! It was a pleasure having all of you as guests. Jim and I hope you'll visit again soon.

Pura Vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelleyj50...
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
“Gorgeous New Home - Fantastic Value”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Amazing views of the Pacific Ocean, in fact every room has ocean views. The kids were excited to spot monkeys, colorful butterflies and beautiful toucans in the tropical jungle right around the property. Kitchen has all needed appliances and utensils; sheets were super soft and large; open living spaces with lots of light. Loved the infinity pool where we soaked with mojitos to cool off. The place is brand new and everything was really clean, and I’m super picky. Thanks, Kristina and Jim for a wonderful week and being so responsive to our questions.
Excellent stay. We will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Jim and I are so pleased that you were so satisfied. Thank you for the wonderful review! No problem with all of the questions I was glad to help you be certain that your vacation is exactly what you wanted it to be and I know with children that can be a challenge!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing