We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous vacation condo in beautiful Samara”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alta Vista Condominium
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in Playa Samara at Alta Vista Condominium in april of 2013. The weather was incredible with not one drop of rain. When we arrived after driving through town and scoping out other accommodations in the area, we were thrilled to be staying at Alta Vista Condos. We were greeted by a family of monkeys that were jumping from branch to branch and later on during our stay we enjoyed taking pictures and watching them from the observation deck. A photographers dream!
We stayed on the second floor in a 2bedroom and were blown away. The kitchen was phenomenal! It had everything you would find in your kitchen at home and the appliances were newer and in great condition. We prepared several meals during our stay and the preparation went off with out a hitch. The bedrooms and living room have ceiling to floor windows that display breathtaking views of the beach as well as the sunrises and sunsets. The condo is about a block to the beach which is fantastic!! The bathrooms were clean and the bows on the tp and toilette were a nice touch as well as the towel swans on the beds. And this is very worth mentioning, the master bath shower (double shower heads) was AMAZING!! All in all it was very welcoming and it felt like a home away from home. It was also nice having a caretaker on the premise at night and Zelda and Zorro patrolling the property. We felt safe and secure and they were great company.
It's a bit of a walk into town (about 10mins walking), so if your not a walker, definitely rent a bike. There is plenty to do in town as well as plenty of places to eat and the concierge was very helpful pointing everything out and scheduling some activities for us. I highly recommend the fishing!! My husband and his friend went out and between the 2 caught 9 sail fish and a Dorado. They couldn't have had a better experience. Can't wait to book our next trip at Alta Vista Condo's

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 73 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Alta Vista is a posh Miami Beach high end condo type Property nestled just steps from the sand in the quaint and very friendly beach town of Samara in the Guanacaste region of Costa Rica. Every unit has up to date decor and top notch cooking appliances to prepare breakfast or lunch at home. If you are looking to disappear and have a vacation, creating life long memories Alta Vista is the place to go. It was amazing from the moment I arrived and we saw things only seen at the zoo. Sunrises are amazing as are sunsets every day! My friend and i chartered a fishing excursion organized directly for us by the Alta Vista staff and it was unreal and the most amazing trip ive been on in a long time. But Clearly my top Pacific fishing adventure. We caught 1, 50lb, mahi mahi or Bull Dorado, and between Patrick and I landed 9 pacific Sailfish or (Pez Vela) not to mention letting one Sail go in a triple header as there were only 2 of us who to fish and we landed both in the double header that it became to be , and it happened twice that day landing both, again! All billfish were released unharmed! It was a dream trip, Patrick landed the largest of the Sails which went to 120lbs, guestimate over 105" and I put the 60" 50lb dorado in the box first thing in the morning at 8:30 am which covered eats, that we prepared in a lovely dinner right at Alta Vista in a top notch kitchen! Delicious it was to say the least! Whatever your need to travel, family couples, friends etc Alta Vista condminiums is the place to call Home base!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrisSavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews but for this stay I had to make an exception. The accommodations were amazing!! Overlooking the ocean and walked to town every night. Quiet and relaxing. Extremely clean with great kitchen for cooking. Plan on visiting again very soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DfwTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our group of four adults stayed in the first floor unit of this condominium building, Alta Amapola in February of 2013. We had a wonderful time, Samara is the best and this condo is within walking distance to the town. The beach is a quick 5 minute walk from the front door! We spent a lot of time walking the beach, enjoying cocktails on the deck, grilling on the barbaque, and cooling off in the plunge pool. The ocean was wonderful for swimming. The condo was well supplied with all the amenities as my sister and I enjoy cooking. Fresh fish and prawns can be purchased in town from the locals, as well as local fruit and vegetables. The grocery store in Samara is also well stocked. Some Spanish would have helped, we we managed without! We loved the laid back, relaxed feel of Samara and felt very safe there. We would definitely recomment this condo.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at Alta Vista for part of our Honeymoon in March 2013. What a wonderful place. Samara is a great little beach town with friendly locals and beautiful beaches.
We can't say a bad word about Alta Vista Condos. We stayed in the 1 bedroom Catalina and it had an amazing view. Randall (caretaker) was extremely friendly and the puppies were such fun.
The rodeo was on across the road while we stayed. It was great to see how the Costa Ricans party.
When we are in Samara next we'll make sure to stay at Alta Vista.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jus737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just returned from two weeks at Alta Vista. We rented the top one bedroom floor named "Catalina". Two decks, both in the shade before noon. We loved our stay. Samara is a sleepy great beach town, laid back and relaxing. The Alta Vista is about a 15 minute walk along the beach to town. Very convenient. Within 5 minute walk is a local bakery and small grocery store. Get this, we stopped at Walmart by SJO to purchase our wine. For the exact same bottles, it was less expensive at the local grocery store in Samara. We were so disappointed to have supported Walmart instead of the local store for our wine. Anyways, the condo complex is wonderful, has a giant Webber gas grill and lovely rooftop deck with panoramic views of Samara and the beach and hillsides. We felt very safe, comfortable and we would go back again. Isn't that the ultimate test of a vacation rental? Owner was very easy to work with and available. His local staff takes care of all or any needs that you will have. Convenient side trips to nearby areas, including Carillo Beach. Certainly, one of the nicest and longest beaches to enjoy anywhere. Google earth this area, you will not be disappointed. Life is good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventurer80218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 18 days in the 1st floor unit (Amapola), and really enjoyed it. Lovely view of the beach and the sunrise, and you can be in the surf in 5 minutes. Playa Samara is a lovely, long beach, never crowded, and the condo is located at the end where the locals tend to play with their families. It takes less than 15 minutes to walk along the beach to the center of this small town.

The unit itself was very comfortable, with 2 bedrooms & 2 baths. It's well-oriented vis-a-vis the sun, and ceiling fans in each room kept it comfortable enough we only used the a/c for an hour or so before bed to cool off the bedroom. The on-site guardian is very helpful (limited English), and keeps the outside spotless. Maid service twice a week kept the inside just as clean. The "plunge" pool is tiny, but refreshing after the walk up from the beach or from town (rinse off first in the outdoor shower near the pool.) Howler monkeys are all around, and there are a couple of small iguanas that sun themselves on the garage roof every day. If you're a cook, you might want to bring a few spices--the kitchen is minimally equipped.

Room Tip: Amapola is the most convenient (nearest the pool.) Begonia has a larger common space, and a much bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccdoerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#16 of 16 in Playa Samara
94 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
313 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
933 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Vista Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Vista Condominium

Address: Meters (Yards) From the Beach in Playa Samara 150, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range: $85 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unobstructed ocean & beach views, steps from the sand and town, 1st world comfort with the jungle behind you and beach in front! Pool, A/C, wifi, hot & purified water, 1st world plumbing, full white line kitchens, modern design, secure on-site parking, full time caretaker, BBQ, Brand New! Unbeatable value + top notch service = we exceed your expectations. Our goal isn't one time business like the other guys, we want you to love us the first time and keep coming back! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing