We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW! Awesome Italian! What a gem! Prepare to wait for it :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Manglar Bar & Pizzeria - CLOSED

More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“WOW! Awesome Italian! What a gem! Prepare to wait for it :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were hesitant to go out for italian because we have amazing italian food at our disposal in philadelphia and the tri-state area. WOW! We were blown away. It was the best meal we had during our two week stay in Costa Rica. Everything was fresh and tasty. We read somewhere that you have to wait for the food and so we came ready to drink wine and enjoy the evening. Other people with kids or somewhere to be got impatient. I think they missed out on the experience and did not get to enjoy the food. We had an awesome time and enjoyed the food in an out of the way area off the main strip. The restaurant is open air off the beach (not overlooking the beach).

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripgal926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
1 review
“Best Italian food in Samara, hands down.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Al Manglar offers the best, authentic italian food in Playa Samara. This has been my favorite place for years. Everything is made to order by the owner of the establishment, a lovely italian woman. She even makes her own pasta! Try the Penne a la Cubana, it's excellent. The Pizza is also, in my opinion, the best you'll find in Samara and it's surroundings. Try the Vegetariana and be sure to pour on plenty of chile pepper olive oil. Great Gnochi and Bruschetta as well. Can't beat this place. I'm getting hungry...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSGdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“don't miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

great pizzas and a gracious host. it is tucked away on a side street, but worth finding.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank valerie721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Good service and food. Numerous choices of pasta dishes Were well prepared.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank AstonTravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Bruschetta & Mama-made food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

This little place down a dusty road off one of the main streets was good and the service was friendly. They served up authentic Italian foods with an attention to flavor. Amongst the best Italian places in town.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CobblestoneVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Manglar Bar & Pizzeria also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing