We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing cozy paradise tucked away in a breath-taking rainforest.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pequeno Gecko Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Pequeno Gecko Verde
Ranked #3 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing cozy paradise tucked away in a breath-taking rainforest.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Thank-you TripAdvisor for having such high recommendations for El Pequeno Gecko Verde in Samara, Costa Rica. It was through these that we came to stay at this bit of paradise for 4 nights. The entire experience was lovely and so relaxing, from snoozing in the hammock on our own terrace to enjoying the delicious breakfasts to swimming in the pool while admiring the absolutely beautiful surroundings to hiking down to the private beach behind the hotel. The little beach town of Samara is an easy 2 km walk through mostly paved roads and there are plenty of little restaurants and market-type shops along the way and in town. The beaches are spectacular, the animals and vegetation interesting and exotic and the people are genuinely friendly and happy. Our cabana was comfortable with air conditioning, a nice little kitchen for preparing snacks and an incredible outdoor shower. Nathalie and Pierre, the proprietors of El Pequeno Gecko Verde are warm and wonderful hosts and I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All the cabanas are wonderful with parking spots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuiltingCathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    35
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
70
184
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

This is a perfect blend of Costa Rica. The trees, the animal wildlife, the remote wild beach,and the pleasant staff are all a pefect balanced combination of Costa Rica. Sitting on you room porch seeing and listening to howler monkeys, humming birds, big frogs, talkative birds was great.
The room was clean and well furnished. We stayed in the 2 bedroom and it fit 4 nicely. The beds were comfortable and the rooms a good size. We liked the outdoor shower also. The kitchen was supplied with enough for basic meals. The bed for the 5th person in our place didn't have access to A/C unless you kept the bedroom doors open for secondary air flow.
The beach is a 5-10 min walk on a well used path. This is not a perfect sand beach, but a great wild rocky beach that you expect to see wildlife at any moment. We swam with water shoes in the warm water;it was very fun. We walked the beach looking for life in the tidal rocks.
Facts:
It's a 20-30 minute walk to Samara with first third on a dirt road.
The beach isn't a perfect sand beach.
The food isn't cheap.The beer was cold. Costa Rica food, except street food, is expensive all over so the hotel food is good and within average prices.
There is the occasional bug. Your in the jungle of Costa Rica!
The
Comments:
The room didn't have screens so the A/C had to be used. There wasn't a way to have the screenless windows/doors open and keep the bugs out. I would have liked to sleep with screened windows to hear the jungle night life.
I would and will go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We only stayed one night, but we wished we stayed longer is little but cozy. It has 5 bungalows, full equipped with kitchen, 2 rooms, living room, great bathroom (outside, you got to see it), all in the middle of the forest; in fact bugs, monkeys, frogs, geckos (or course), birds and many plants were literally at your finger tips, since they were just outside your room. The place was quite, really near samara and the staff was amazing. The owners are French, so they have a really good cuisine options; besides the hotel’s property is big so it has its own trails, which are connected to a private beach. The place is really recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for Tabacón
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

We just returned from three weeks in Nicaragua and Costa Rica, where we visited many lovely places. Without a doubt, The Little Green Gecko was our favorite place to have stayed! We saw more wildlife, just relaxing in the hammock on our sweet little porch, than any place else. There were countless birds and butterflies, howlers whooping it up in the trees overhead, armadillos scurrying around at night. We even saw a little paca foraging in the bushes just a few feet away - twice!

The bungalows are just beautiful, elegant and spacious. We had a little kitchen, a sitting area/daybed and a terrific outdoor shower. The property is set in the jungle, outside the town of Playa Samara, and has a pretty pool, small restaurant for breakfast and lush grounds. There is a lovely jungle walk of about ten minutes that takes you from the bungalows to a secluded beach.

The owners, Natalie and Pierre, were so kind, congenial and helpful. The love and care with which they created this little piece of paradise is evident in all its wonderful details. We feel very fortunate to have stumbled across El Pequeño Gecko Verde. We spent the last three nights of our trip here, and were so glad that this little oasis was the setting for our last impressions of Costa Rica. We hope to return, as soon as we're able!

Thank you Natalie and Pierre!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyoop1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

Second stay at PGV and hope we can return again soon. We have traveled a lot around the world but this place probably ranks within our favorite top 10. Very quiet and tranquil and set in the middle of an older forest. Only ~5 bungalows each of which is very nicely laid out and has a good kitchen for cooking home meals. Pool and bar area very nice any time of day. Normally we would make breakfast ourselves in the bungalow but it was very relaxing and pleasant to sit by the pool and be fed in the morning. Trail to private beach is a highlight. Nathalie & Pierre are very kind; it was a dream for them to move to Costa Rica and open this operation and they have clearly given it 100%, which is why it has been successful. You can walk to town in about 30 min (2 km). Cocktails on the beach at Gusto are great any time of day. Excellent stop for 3+ nights; book early in the dry season.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stranden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

El Pequeno Gecko Verde is a bit out of the way, but the location is absolutely fantastic, and well worth the extra distance (about 2km / 20mins walk from Samara town). We stayed in the Guanabana house and had an amazing time. The whole property is really well looked after, and the decor inside the houses is very tasteful. The houses have everything you need for a pleasant stay, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

The only thing that's missing is an onsite restaurant, but we just walked into town for dinner every night, which was no big deal, and there are plenty restaurants to choose from. Breakfast is served onsite, and is definitely good value.

Be sure to head out to the quiet Playa Buena Vista, about 4km north of Samara, it's a true slice of paradise.

Full respect to the owners of El Pequeno Gecko Verde for developing such a beautiful property, we really felt at home here, and definitely will be back next time we're in Costa Rica

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bringabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed at the Gecko Verde for seven nights the last week of February during the dry season. What a amazing paradise the owners Nathalie and Pierre have created. There are five casitas - bungalows, each providing privacy and comfort surrounded by gorgeous tropical plantings and trees, with the sweet sound of howler monkeys in the near distance. We were situated in the Guanabana casita. Wonderful king-size bed, inviting outdoor shower, relaxing hammock on the porch, all decorated in tropical colors. We ate breakfast at the poolside eating area every other day and made our own breakfast the other days. The pool and waterfall are relaxing and very pretty. As mentioned previously, Sandra and the staff are wonderfully helpful and she makes an excellent Pina Colada. We unfortunately forget the person's name who made our breakfast but she did a terrific job and makes the bread herself. It was delicious. We asked her to make a loaf for us to have in the casita. Samara and the surrounding area is very dry in February and the dirt road that you must drive on to get to the Gecko is dusty. So it was a such a welcome to arrive at the Gecko where it was lush, green, and peaceful. Wish we could have seen the coati more - he only came out twice while we were there. The casita is cleaned every day and the fresh towels are arranged in decorative ways laid out on the bed. I'll never forget the night I smoked a cigar while my feet were cooling in the pool and I Iaid back and looked up at the stars in near total darkness. Outstanding! We have very warm memories of our stay at the Gecko and hope we can come back again soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aklein1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pequeno Gecko Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pequeno Gecko Verde

Property: El Pequeno Gecko Verde
Address: Camino Buena Vista | Cantarrana, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pequeño Gecko Verde is a small Boutique Hotel in Sámara beach, at the edge of the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. The hotel consists of beautiful villas, luxurious bungalows and romantics rooms, arranged to maximize privacy, in the middle of a beautiful tropical garden. Located 5 minutes by car from the central village of Sámara and its gorgeous fine sand beach, El Pequeño Gecko Verde is far from the crowd and the noise, immersed in the most tropical and the most quiet and serene part of the area. This privileged location in Sámara makes the hotel a unique oasis and the perfect compromise between beach and nature. It's also the ideal starting point for discovering the beaches of Buena Vista, Barrigona, Carrillo, San Miguel as well as numerous activities in and around the hotel and surrounding area. El Pequeño Gecko Verde is a small Boutique Hotel in Sámara beach, at the edge of the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Nestled in the midst of centenarian trees and a lush tropical garden, the property is home to more than one hundred species of trees and tropical plants. As the flora and fauna occupy an essential importance to our setting, you will without a doubt witness some of the numerous animals which live all around the hotel, such as: monkeys, coatimundis, armadillos, raccoons, anteaters, squirrels, jaguarundis, agoutis, amphibians, iguanas, as well as many birds and butterflies... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Pequeno Gecko Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pequeno Gecko Verde Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing