We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Cooking Area”
Review of El Lagarto

El Lagarto
Ranked #4 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
East Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome Cooking Area”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

What fun it is to watch the coals being raked down the chute and the food being cooked on the grills. Photos come out great. Keep an eye on the sand floor, as the night cools, the land crabs make a trek back to the beach. I've been there when it looks like the whole floor is moving. That said the food is excellent. The beef is very tasty and the shrimp is wonderful. It probably is the most expensive restaurant in Samara, but still moderate by US standards. Would highly recommend a stop here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrosCrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    166
    63
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere yet average food”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere at El Lagarto is amazing. The food and service are average. This restaurant caters to the American audience (we live in the US since 14 years) so you must like it. The meat for my steak wasn't good and we never went back during our 2 week stay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TirolerNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a large group dinner here (20 people). The restaurant is beautiful and right on the beach. The food was amazing. I had the whole fish. The staff did a perfect job and made zero mistakes on such a large order.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jillburynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best for last”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We saved this restaurant for our last day and the whole fish was incredible. Wished we would've tried it earlier on in our stay. Yummy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank StudiosNobhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great ambience. Good food, but Expensive!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We loved our waitress and the ambience, but we ordered a rib eye steak and were served the wrong kind. The waitress was happy to change it, but the cook/owner came over and was nasty about it and refused to change it.... It spoiled an otherwise nice meal. The rest of the food was good but quite pricey for Costa Rica.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenRodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lagarto also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Lagarto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing