We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good God, this place is amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Lagarto

El Lagarto
Ranked #4 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good God, this place is amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Well, what can I say about this place... It is what Costa Rica on the whole is missing, a beachside barbeque extravaganza. The "furnace" is bespoke, and is a real eye catcher.

I had the mixed seafood in garlic and white wine to start and the LEGENDARY surf and turf; the first time was with the shrimp, second with TWO whole squid! Both came with the most deliiciously flavoured 9oz tenderloin. Came with a baked potato, tomato and courgette (zucchini).... everything done on the furnace.

It truly was, both times, some of the best food I have eaten, ever!

Along with excellent, attentive service with a smile, in gorgeous surroundings, you really can not afford NOT to try it whilst in Samara.

Be prepared to pay $30-50 per person, but you really should splash out just once here, and come hungry!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taz046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    165
    62
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
st-jean
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Real food like home montreal with prices like at home . The ambiance is really nice. You are on the beach wear bug spray. The food is good and prepared on grill (wood charcoal). A few red ants but mostly common black ants so nothing to wortry about. I would go back anytime.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kperky96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“My favorite Restaurant in Samara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great location right on the beach, excellent bbq food and great service, our favorite restaurant in Samara. We went there twice, had different meals each time and were not disappointed at all. The meat and seafood were perfectly cooked, well seasoned and served on beautiful wood plates. Cocktails are excellent too. A bit more pricey than the others restaurant but really a nice place for romantic dinners.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank thelenkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

One of the best grilled steaks I have ever tasted. The outdoor grill, and history behind this little place was very interesting. a Must-do in Samara. Pricey, but worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rhianaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We saved El Lagarto for our last night in Samara, and weren't disappointed. We had a steak/shrimp dish that was absolutely excellent. The steak was tender, juicy and cooked to absolute perfection. The shrimp was the same. Serving staff were friendly and attentive. The location, right on the beach, is perfect. Yes, a bit pricey compared to other restaurants in Samara, but we found that the calibre of food and service, along with beach location, absolutely justified the prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lagarto also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Lagarto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing